If You Insist…

I am guessing that you are seeing someone else.  So be it.  This is the last time I write to you.  I have nothing more to say.  Have a good life.

So ends the latest missive from a woman who has been writing me for about 25 years.  I have no idea who she is.  The letters are never signed, there is never a return address.  The postmark says only, “Southern CT.”

She can go years between letters, then she’ll send one a day.  She is clearly a troubled soul.

I hope it is the last time she writes me.  But I also hope she’ll be OK.  Whoever she is.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, People. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to If You Insist…

  1. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    She’s mine now, Gerry. Get over it.

  2. Cat says:

    Interesting..

    As long as no harm ever came to you, that is the important thing.
    Still, 25 years, is a long time to ponder over the 5 W’s.

  3. Not quite sure what to make of that, Ger. Troubled soul is a good, educated guess. I’m reminded of Saul Bellow’s novel, Herzog, a man who wrote letters compulsively. If Bellow were alive, maybe he’d write a 21st century version.

    Herblog.

    There are so many more options for graphophiles these days.

    To write letters for 25 years – letters! – then decide to stop. Not email, or comments on your blog. Letters!

    I have a friend, a well know poet, who had a woman follow him around, show up where he was doing readings. Disturbed the hell out of him. She did this for years. Then stopped. He has no idea what happened, but doesn’t miss the attention paid. In that way.

    I hope she’s ok, too. And I hope she follows through with her plan to disconnect from you.

  4. ricksterdean says:

    Gerry, Personally, I think it was Hilton Kaderli.

  5. At least there was no white powder…and no damaging pictures!

Leave a Reply

