What’s Under the Seat?

Sounds like a game show, doesn’t it?  “Welcome to ‘What’s Under the Seat?'”!!!

I’m giving my wife’s car its annual spring cleaning.  The big question every year:  what will I find under the seat?  Guaranteed I will find food, makeup, and at least one item that will have her say, “I wondered where that went.”

What lurks under the driver's seat? Read on!

So without further adieu, here’s this year’s take:  two pens, one pair of glasses (may be mine), assorted sticks of gum in various flavors, one almond, one Hershey’s Kiss (in foil, thank you), one makeup brush, and the “I wondered where that went” item:  a rather large necklace.

This represents an improvement over past years, when bottles of liquids (sealed, thank heaven) and formerly fresh fruit (which somehow didn’t stink) turned up.

Need a bag?

Not under the seat were three umbrellas (small, medium, and golf) for storms of all sizes, and two snow brushes and scrapers, which have been removed for the season. 

And in the trunk…well…the trunk is another story.  But eight bags? 

I won’t even ask.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, It's all about me, Noticed, People and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to What’s Under the Seat?

  1. Ok, I have to ask the ‘silly’ question,,, what the heck are you doing at 2:10 am cleaning out your wife’s car? If you really need to do something like that, you can do my car. There you will find all kinds of treasures!

    As for the bags, she might keep them there as re-usable bags when she goes shopping. I know there are a bunch of re-usable bags that tend to stay in the kitchen or the bedroom (sometimes it’s easier to get my walker out that door than the front door). I did happen to ask the ‘dumb’ question on my end,,, ‘Honey, since we somehow found ourselfs at Sams, do we have any bags in the car?’ Son of a gun we had four of them! That shocked me. They were in the trunk. Along with some things that could make their way into the apartment, since we we did move here the last weekend of June last year. I’m not sure if he is keeping them there in the event we move again.

    Man, no matter how short I think my questions/replies to you I will never get to be a ‘Tweeter’.

  2. Kathryn D. says:

    I usually use that “spring cleaning” to find those darned lost earrings! Yes, “Is that where it went?” is most familiar! 🙂

  3. graham says:

    So, that’s where those bags went!

  4. Susan G. says:

    The bags (at least in my trunk) are for earth-friendly shopping. So we’re not all buried in non-bio-degradable plastic. If you don’t keep them in the trunk, you never have them when you need them at the store.

    • Gerry says:

      They are the reusable bags, Susan. I was just amazed at the quantity, along with…well…I was just glad I didn’t find the body of a pilot who pissed her off.

  5. Li'l Em-Youngman says:

    In the country club locker room:

    Guy#1: Geez, Harry, since when do you wear pantyhose?

    Guy#2: Since my wife found them under the seat.

  6. wendy says:

    You’re wife is amazing. If you cleaned out my car, you’d probably be able to have a fairly lucrative tag sale! As for the bags ~ they are for grocery shopping. I hope she’s NOT like me as I continually forget them and then buy more each time! I have an astounding collection at this point. 🙂 Have a good one, Gerry! Just remember, you’ll need a backhoe for my car.

  7. Mary says:

    Isn’t that what husbands are for, the annual spring cleaning, but my husband lucks out he also has two daughters with cars. He just comes in shaking his head, he is a very patient.

  8. Steve K says:

    Gerry,
    What time can I expect you at my house to tackle my wife’s car?

  9. stratos bonos says:

    not in my new car…. but in my old one, you would have been able to have a meal, and than buy another one

  10. Bob Porrazzo says:

    Not to be curious Gerry, but which car wash do you take the vehicle for the annual spring cleaning?

Leave a Reply

