Well, That Was Fun…

…while it lasted.

Monday’s post on the volcano got an inordinate number of hits and an inordinate number of comments.  For some reason, WordPress, the organization that hosts this and about 300,000 other blogs, picked that post to feature on its “Freshly Pressed” page.

Those two paragraphs and a YouTube video took a trip around the world.  The comments came from England, Germany, Poland, and Africa, among other places.  I’m still in the process of reading the blogs of those who wrote (their names are in green).  If you get a chance, check them out.

I’m fascinated by the diversity and depth of those who took the time to write.  And I find it a good reminder of how much the internet has shrunk our world. 

I’m still amazed.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, Noticed, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Well, That Was Fun…

  1. Mark says:

    It’s great that they chose your blog!
    I hope you get even more recognition.
    You are a great writter and news anchor.
    Maybe one day we’ll see your name on the New York Times best seller’s list. You should really consider writting a book.
    Your full of wisdom.

  2. Linda says:

    I’m amazed too! It was a lot of fun to read all the comments. It’s a wonderful compliment to your ability to capture a subject, release it and inspire a reading community.

  3. That you read the blogs of those who commented says a lot about you. There are some bloggers out there who seem to care much more about their own thoughts and opinions than those of their readers. I think the best blogs are like salons in which conversations take place. Not one person talking at others – two or more people talking TO each other.

    I was delighted to see your blog get so much exposure, worldwide. The attention paid was deserved, my friend.

  4. Perfect. That’s exactly the kind of reaction I imagined I got in ad agency meetings when I thought I’d added something useful to the conversation.

    At least you’re honest enough to say ( write ) it out loud.

    Touche.

    • Gerry says:

      I figured you’d be back. So now, let me say that if someone is good enough to comment on my blog, I feel I owe them the time to read theirs. And I know you do too.

  5. Gerry,

    I had a feeling you would get to be a HUGE star, but lo and behold I didn’t think it would be about the Volcano. I really think that it is fantastic! I commend and applaud you!

    I do have one quick question will you still remember us ‘little people’?

  6. Gerry's Mentor says:

    Thank goodness we have our Gerry back to ourselves!

  7. Kevin says:

    party’s over ,whos helping with pickin up the empties?

Leave a Reply

