Gloomy Day Getaway

On my third cup of coffee on this damp, gray golfless Saturday.  Pondering my “to do (or not to do) list” when I came across this slide show on the New York Times website.

(Let me digress for a moment.  The Associated Press this week issued a decree that website is now one word.  Ladies and gentlemen, that is power.)

Anyway, that slideshow reminds me how much I love to travel, and offers a chance to ponder where our next great adventure will take us.  It also serves as a gallery for people who have a good eye and talent for digital photography, which may be my favorite of all the digital toys.  Most of the pictures are interesting, many are outstanding.

But most of all, it gets me out of here for a few minutes.  And if you have a few minutes, you can escape, too.

Enjoy.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, Noticed, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Gloomy Day Getaway

  1. Linda says:

    Thanks, Gerry. I’m working right now. I try to peak at your blog whenever I’m working to hopefully catch a smile or two. These pictures are beautiful and a nice escape.

  2. Beckie says:

    I was an editorial assistant for a newspaper. The AP Stylebook was “the Bible,” so if AP says website is now one word, so be it, as it was written in The Stylebook.
    (Apparently, it’s now not only one word, but no longer capitalized. I left the paper in ’04 and it was “Web site” then.”
    I miss the job and the people I worked with, but never the corporate bs.
    I have a new boss now. She’s demanding, short, has very little hair (but it’s filling in) and she’s still a little wobbly on her feet. And I get paid in hugs and kisses. Wouldn’t trade it for the world! 🙂

  3. Amy says:

    website. website website website. I’m so excited. website. now if they could just do a way with caps…

    :0)

  4. Kevin says:

    I haven’t been this happy since the unification of Germany.

  5. Thanks for the heads up on that slide show. Great stuff, and a few brought a smile. Which I needed, having just watched the Sox blow that postponed game at Fenway.

Leave a Reply

