And That’s The Way It Is

For those of you younger than me (in other words, 97% of you), you should know that you will always have to answer to your mother.

As you may or may not know, I’m now on Twitter (for reasons I’m still trying to determine), and for lack of anything better to tweet, I’m tapping out, in 140 characters or less, what kind of necktie I’m wearing every day.  Which led to this conversation with my semi-computer literate mother:

“What’s with the necktie thing?”

“Don’t tell me you’re on Twitter.”

“No, I see it on the front of your blog.”

“Oh.  I do that mostly to amuse myself.”

(A moment of silence.)

“Y’know Ma, I’m basically the same as I was when I was six.”

“I know.  You’ve always been easily amused.”

And so I am.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, It's all about me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to And That’s The Way It Is

  1. Gerry,

    Hey at least your mom knows who you are! I called my mom today and she asked me five times who I was. I’m so glad I’m her only daughter. LOL Then I was explaining to her who my cousin was that is getting married in May. My mom asked me if she knew who was getting married. I told her that it was mom’s sister’s grand-daughter. So mom said ‘ok’. Then the conversation changed. She all of a sudden remembered I talked to her three weeks ago about having surgery. Then she told me how dangerous it is. Nothing like making me feel so much better. When I told her it will help me even make my life longer and she asked how was that going to happen if I died during the surgery.

    I think I liked her better when she didn’t know who I was.

    By the way,,, nice tie!

  2. Jerry says:

    Who knows you better than your Mom?

  3. Cat says:

    Sharon, any chance we could be sisters??? lol

    Mothers, you got to love em…..

    Gerry, your mom sounds like a gem..

    • Hi Cat,

      I’d love to have a sister! 🙂 My folks had lost my Birth Certificate while we lived in NY or from many of their moves in CT. So, when I wanted to get a Passport I needed to get a copy of it. When it came, it took me a couple of days to open the envelope I was going back and forth what if they weren’t my parents like my brother always told me when we were growing up. I finally looked at it, and wasn’t sure if I were happy or sad they were my folks, and my brothers were really my brothers. Oh well.

      Gerry, I think I am growing to be like my mom (heaven forbid!), I kept telling my boyfriend yesterday to keep pulling down his shirt in the back. I don’t know about you, but I have heard thost many words come out of my mother’s mouth. At least, there wasn’t a NY accent like hers!

  4. Mary says:

    Gotta love the moms, they’re straight shooters and we wouldn’t be here without them. Mom Brooks, I can see where Gerry gets his wisdom 🙂

  5. Cat says:

    Sharon I would be honored and I’m very happy to hear that your a true family member.

    Have a great weekend.
    Oh and Gerry, thanks for allowing this little conversation to take place.

    You have a nice weekend too…….

    • Thanks Cat!

      As for you Gerry, yes, for letting us have this much fun here. Also thank your mother for me for making sure you spell your name with a ‘G’ and not a ‘J’ like my older brother – Jerry. Or when he does a ‘quick ‘ note – Jer.

  6. Well Gerry, you have to be part of this family too!

Leave a Reply

