Something’s Missing

Problem solved with my six-year-old car that needed $2000 worth of work.  I got rid of it… along with the domestic automaker that had begged for another chance and blew it.

I bought a vehicle that’s new.  To me.  It’s two years old, 22-thousand miles.  Someone else took care of the depreciation for me.

It’s got all the bells and whistles I want.  But it’s missing an ashtray.  (Oh no, Gerry, you’re not smoking again are you?  No.  No I am not.  Don’t even have the slightest desire.) 

Even though I don’t smoke, I miss the ashtray.  It was still good for gum wrappers and other little bits of trash.  And if I have a smoker in the car, I still offer the option, though no one has taken me up on the offer.  (What?  I’m gonna tell my mother, “Those things can kill you?”)  

So carmakers have taken a stand against smoking by arbitrarily removing the ashtray.  Fine.

But why is some premium safety equipment still an option?

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Noticed, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Something’s Missing

  1. Dan McCarthy says:

    As much as smoking annoys me, it’s more annoying when smokers in cars with no ashtrays have their cigs out the window so the ash ends up on the guy behind them (i.e. ME).

    Enjoy the new car, Gerry.

  2. pete says:

    Enjoy your Tata Nano, Gerry.

  3. To hell with the ash tray! I miss vent windows!!!! Bring them back….

  4. Amy says:

    It’s an ashtray? I thought it was a change holder. :0)

  5. Kathryn D. says:

    Gerry,

    I am amazed at how you always provide the best topical photos to your blog!

    Thank you.

  6. graham says:

    You’re right…I just bought a new(3 yrs old) car and just what do you know? No ashtray!!
    Well, at least you got me out of my chair to run out and check. Thanks for the exercise!

Leave a Reply

