The Quintessential Older Brother

No, not me.  Wally.  Wally Cleaver.

Forever Wally

Wally always looked good in the eyes of his parents (Ward and June) because he had a dorky little brother (The Beav), an obnoxious best friend (Eddie Haskell), and a pretty girlfriend (usually named Julie).

When “Leave It To Beaver” made its debut on October 4, 1957, Wally became the president of the Older Brothers Club for life.  By then, I had been a member for two and a half years.

I do recall my mother asking Son #2 and me why we couldn’t behave like Wally and The Beaver.  And I seem to recall asking her, “Why don’t you write us a script every day?”  (Actually, I’m not sure I said it or I wanted to say it.)

Anyway, Wally, aka Tony Dow, is 65 years old today. 

And he’s still America’s Older Brother.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, Noticed, People, TV Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Quintessential Older Brother

  1. Bill Callahan says:

    Excellent! The Beaver was the star, but Wally was the glue that held everything together. 65- Wow!
    Bill from Billings!

  2. Susan G. says:

    “Comprising six full 39-week seasons (234 episodes), the show had its debut on CBS on October 4, 1957, moved to ABC the following year, and completed its first run on June 20, 1963.”

    Those were the days- when TV seasons were 39 weeks long!

    I guess Wally was the older (by 8 years) brother I never had. It’s hard to believe I was only 10 by the time it went off the air. The Cleavers are firmly imprinted in my brain!

  3. rick says:

    Gerry, Once again thanks for reminding me I am not a young man anymore. Its bad enough to know Opie is bald.

  4. James says:

    Gerry – A child actor who didn’t grow up to become an addict and a felon? Imagine that!! He and Ron Howard must belong to the same cult. 🙂

  5. Gerry, thanks for the post. Yes, Wally was the iconographic big brother. But wasn’t his girlfriend usually Mary Ellen Rogers, not Julie whoever? Mary Ellen was sort of hot, as I recall.

Leave a Reply

