Moon Over the Masters

A conversation I recently had with a friend:

Him:  “What’s up for the weekend?”

Me:  “Going to a Masters party on Sunday.”

Him:  “I’d rather get my ass shaved.”

OK, so not everyone likes golf.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Sports and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Moon Over the Masters

  1. Pamela Frank-Hall says:

    so what’s wrong with him!

  2. This one was very good!

  3. Doug says:

    Nice! I get an image of a guy who’s revived a few “personal shaver” gift packs over the years during the holidays but has neglected to use them …

  4. What a coincidence. Jim Furyk was quoted as saying the exact same thing your friend said after a reporter asked him if he’s going to watch the weekend Masters coverage on TV.

  5. Gerry's Mentor says:

    I’m honored………and silky smooth!

  6. Ok, now I’m turning red – thanks Gerry’s Mentor! I’m going to think about men that way! Some of them are an ‘Eww’ others are ‘Nice’!

  7. Li'l Em Drinkin' and Teed Off says:

    Now I’ve got more reasons to be enraged at the Masters.

    First, Gary McCord was banned (years ago) from announcing at the Masters because he referred to the crowd as a “mob.” Gasp!

    Then, this week, some pompous, self-righteous stuffed shirt – I think he was the Chairman of Augusta or something – lectured Tiger in public and hopes Tiger can change his ways (we’ll pat him on the head if he does since we ARE better than him, right?).

    And now – I could be wrong, but I doubt it – the TV announcers are required to refer to the crowd not as fans but as patrons! God forbid we should have fans attending this sacred event. No, no, we have patrons. Gag me with a divot fork.

    The folks at the Masters can keep their stupid traditions and their goofy roller-coaster greens. Give me the US or British Open any day.

    (pant, pant)

    • Gerry says:

      Li’l Em, those Masters folk have demanded CBS refers to fans as “patrons” forever. Makes me want to vomit.
      As for the self-righteous stuffed shirt, his name is Billy Payne, and it’s really good to know that a bunch of old white guys who wear green blazers are appalled at Tiger’s morals because they are all, of course, holier than thou and moi and Tiger Woods.

  8. JH says:

    So would I but I was only invited to a Masters Party.

  9. Kevin says:

    is this one of them partys where you need a safe word?

Leave a Reply

