There’s Something About Maya

Get this girl a ladder company endorsement!

I don’t know Maya Moore, and I don’t particularly need to meet her.  I’m quite pleased to admire her as a reporter and a fan, and leave it at that.

And as much as I admire her performance, I’m taken with her persona.  She has the face of a Cabbage Patch kid, but the carriage of someone far beyond her 21 years (in June.)  In interviews, she is thoughtful, considered, and relatively cliché-free.  In words and actions, she clearly is the leader of this remarkable UConn basketball team.

With all due respect to Swin and Sue, Rebecca and Kara, Taurasi and Tina, Maya Moore will ultimately stand as the gold standard of UConn women’s basketball.  I think she does now. 

And she’s not done yet.  Lucky Geno.  Lucky us.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, People, Sports and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to There’s Something About Maya

  1. Gerry,

    I’m not going to make that 140 charactor,,,

    I have to admit, I have always been a Husky fan due to both of my brother’s going to UCONN. I followed their football games for many years, but started to pay a little attention to the basketball team about six years ago. I normally don’t really follow college sports per se, yet, will admit, that I followed the Albany Great Danes when my son went to college there.

    Yet, I have found myself watching more and more of the Women’s UCONN Basketball games. I have scared my poor pets when I screamed out Maya’s & Tiffany’s names in the past couple of games (You would think my pets would be used to my screaming while watching sports by now!).

    I have been so impressed by the young ladies from UCONN who have done interviews, who are so wonderfully articulate, who when they speak, you feel as if they are right there next to you, not in front of hundreds/thousands of others. Their love for Geno and his for them is so apparant. You can even still see that when Rebecca Lobo interviews him.

    I can’t wait to hear Maya speak again, as well as watch what she can do in next year’s season! I humbly bow down to you Miss Moore.

  2. joan says:

    I couldn’t possibly agree more! At lunch today the topic of “who’d win a Maya v. Diana 1 on 1…” would be something to see but I do think Maya would emerge victorious in just about any contest.

  3. The arc of the UConn womens basketball team story could have been written by Ring Lardner, or Malamud. It ( The story ) and they ( Gino’s players ) just get better and better. Smarter. More articulate. Classier.

    And oh by the way. Better players.

    Gino might not be the most likeable guy. But Jeez what a career. If he decides to quit this gig…

    A run for governor?

    Slogan for run for CT guv:

    Just Say Gino.

  4. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Maya Moore is a Rhodes Scholarship candidate and it shows.

    Maya’s knowledge of how to play the game of basketball is unsurpassed. She knows exactly where to be on the court and she knows what to do when she gets there. Her unerring hoops instincts and her fluid execution put her in a class by herself.

    Maya Moore is my amour. (I don’t really mean that, but it seems like somebody should say it.)

  5. Kathryn D. says:

    She is truly an outstanding all around person! Maya Moore for President 2024!

  6. laidye Askew says:

    I love my little cousin, Maya Moore, and I love all the Husky ladies. You all are superior players. Coach Geno, you are phenominal! Believe it or not I have hundreds of Nashvillians watching the UCONN games. Your TN Fan Club is huge! All I talk about is UCONN. My car is decorated with a magnetic sign that encourages others to watch the games. Your team is electrifying and I wouldn’t miss it for anything. I would love to visit the campus. When is your Athletic Awards Ceremony? Keep up the good work!

    I pray for Geno and the team very often. I’ve already started praying for next school year to be a success.

    Thanks.

    A. Laidye Askew

  7. Bob Porrazzo says:

    All I can say is, with all due reapect to a certain number 3 from Chino, CA…

    WE GOT MAYA…AND YOU DON’T!

    And terry, Geno would know what to do BETTER than those fools called the General Assembly.

    And Laide…A UCONN LADY HUSKY CLUB IN TN?! THAT’S LIKE A YANKEES FAN CLUB IN BOSTON OR PROVIDENCE…or vice versa for New York.

    Oh and Gerry…HOW DOES IT FEEL TO BE NEAR THE BOTTOM OF THE STANDINGS?!

Leave a Reply

