Such a Twit

You may have noticed that I’ve hopped on the Twitter train.  You can see the latest posts if you scroll down the right side of the blog.

I started blogging three years ago because my boss thought it would be a good thing to do.  961 posts later, so do I.  I’ve made new friends, worked on my writing skills, and it’s daily therapy.

I joined Facebook a couple of years ago because my old boss told me to check out his page.  I didn’t realize you had to sign up to see it.  I mostly use Facebook to post the blog, but I have reconnected with some old high school buddies, and made some new acquaintances.  I divide my “Facebook friends” into two groups:  People I Know, and People I Don’t Know.  But I’ve moved several from the latter to the former as we get to know each other through blog comments.

And now Twitter.  You get 140 characters to get your message across on Twitter, which suits me fine.  Broadcast writing is, after all, about economy.  I’ve seen some good information, some useless information, some clutter, and some funny stuff.  So far, I’m using it as another venue to post the blog, and to divest my cluttered cranium of thoughts that require 140 characters or less. 

Twitter continues  my embrace of the digital life. 

Or my total surrender to it.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, It's all about me, Media and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Such a Twit

  1. Gerry,

    I joined Facebook as for my son,,, seems it’s the only way he will ‘talk’ to me most of the time. Last he and I were going back and forth about his upcomming 25th birthday and what he wants – I’ve only been bugging him for the past month about this. I finally got some ideas from my cousin who is a few years older than my son. I helped raise this cousin and when he introduces me to any of his friends, I’m “Aunt Sharon”, which I’m sure I will hear him say at his wedding.

    I have re- met people from High School, Jr. High, the places I’ve worked, some Anchormen and Anchorwomen, Weathermen/Weatherwomen, people from all over the world due to the games I play. I have even had a few people who I have never met face-to-face yet, who have donated to the M.S. Walk that I will be doing next weekend.

    I responded to my first blog from Facebook. I never thought I would ever do that, but it piqued my interest and I’d see what would happen.

    I don’t think I could Twitter though. Yet, you never know,, maybe in a few years from now,,,,

    • Gerry says:

      Sharon, you really think you could keep it to 140 characters? 🙂

      • Gerry,

        If you could hear my voice today I might, just ‘might’ be able to keep it at 140 characters. Then again, nah,,, what fun would that be?

        I have to admit, at times, you really do remind me of my older brother named ‘Jerry’. The thing is I like you more than him. 🙂

  2. Kathryn D. says:

    Our company has Facebook and LinkedIn accounts. I am apprehensive to sign on to any of these because I do not know how to separate personal from professional identities. I see comments on our Corporate Facebook account that do not seem appropriate to me.

    Can anyone help me with the delineation of personal vs. professional blog accounts?

    Gerry, I commend you for the embrace of technology.

    Thank you.

    • Gerry says:

      Kathryn, as far as I know, you can open as many FB accounts as you want. For instance, I could have a “Gerry Brooks” page and a “Gerry Brooks NBC CT” page. I’m also on LinkedIn, but I rarely visit it.

      • Scott says:

        Kathryn, LinkedIn is considered the “for professionals” social networking site. Facebook tends to be more of a personal site. Many people get in trouble when they let their professional connections become “friends” in Facebook (inappropriate posts/pictures for professional contacts). What works for me is that I try to connect with as many people as possible in LinkedIn – to create a large network for things such as job opportunities, industry trends, book reviews, etc… Facebook is reserved for my private life. Just to throw a wrench in – I do have friends on Facebook that I work with – the delineation being it is people I hang out with outside of work.

  3. Cat says:

    Well now, I sure hope I went from “who is she to ,I know her” (kind of) side of your Facebook.
    Granted I never sat beside you in math class, we never did lunch, dinner or even coffee, but as you once said to me “your a tough one”. People like me are good to have around , we keep you on your toes.
    If you ever decide to leave Facebook, my heart will forever be crushed :p,,,,, for a Tweeter I shall never become…

    I think its great that you have master all the new technology, there are times when I still reach for my cordless phone and wonder why my tv stations will not change. ~sigh~

  4. Linda says:

    You are the perfect type of person to embrace all the electronic media. You may consider your blog “daily therapy”, but I think your readers reap many benefits too. I haven’t joined Facebook or Twitter – and have no plans to. My place of business has a blog, Facebook and Twitter and I, too, have the same concerns as Kathryn D. I find it unprofessional that our boss communicates to the staff via Facebook. Not all of us are on Facebook. And I really don’t want to know every detail of my co-worker’s lives. I grew up with manual typewriters and I had to punch holes in cards to enter data in the work computer. I’m pretty proud of what I can do with a computer today. I still haven’t embraced the cell phone, though. Mine stays off and is used only for emergencies.

    • Gerry says:

      Linda, I’m having a tough time conceiving of a manager who communicates to her/his staff via Facebook. Impersonal is one thing, rude is another.
      You will find little personal information about me on my Facebook page. I’m stunned at the personal revelations others post, and I’ve even told some “friends” to be careful what they reveal.
      As for the cell phone, I’m on the 300 minute plan. More than enough.

  5. Now if we could only get Terrance (Web Town Observer) hooked up to Facebook and Twitter!

  6. Scott says:

    Gerry – how much of it is driven by your new cell phone/multimedia tool? Do you think you would be as into social media without the ease of access the phone gives you? What would you say is the percentage you use your phone for the original purpose (phone calls) rather than other things?

    • Gerry says:

      Scott, I would have dived in without the smartphone, but it certainly makes it easier.
      Ironically, I was just thinking today that I’m using the cell phone a little more, because I downloaded all of my contacts into it. Excellent question. Thanks.

  7. Kevin says:

    Sharon ,Gerry was part of project Jedi.

  8. Sue D says:

    And are you loving the Droid experience, or, like I, still struggling a bit?

    • Gerry says:

      I’m doing well with it. I’m going way out on a limb to say that I think this is one thing men adapt to better than women, just based on the people I know and have talked to. Feel free to tell me to go have sex with myself.

  9. Kathryn D. says:

    Gerry, Scott and Linda:

    Thank you for the info! I really appreciate it! This post took some interesting twists!

    Thank you again.

Leave a Reply

