From the Great Beyond

This is the new Tiger Woods Nike commercial.   Watch it now.  It probably won’t be around for long.

The voice is that of Earl Woods, Tiger’s father, who died in 2006.

Pardon me if I find the ad to be manipulative.  An alliance, unholy or not, tied together by the voice of a dead man who probably rolled over in his grave when the Cadillac went crunch last November.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, News, People, Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to From the Great Beyond

  1. I saw this today. If my voice wouldn’t have been gone before I saw the ad, it would have been afterwards. I can’t believe that Nike would stoop so low.

  2. Kevin says:

    Macabre, creepy, bizarre and tacky, using your dead Dad to sell sneakers and restore your tattered image. What is going through this guys head. I’m starting to really think he is completely delusional and has some sort of distorted messianic image of himself.
    The whole commercial reminds me of a poor imitation of the fortress of Solitude scene in Superman.

    as far as Nike goes, can’t stand them, New Balance for me, and unlike Nike many of NB shoes are made here in the United States by adults ,not by children for cents on the dollar.

    • The other ‘creepier’ part of this ad is how many people forgot that Tiger’s dad was a womanizer as well.

      I do agree about New Balance. I have been wearing them for at least 10 years.

  3. rick says:

    How come I can not be in the room when ideas like that are being passed around? And some of these people make a ton of money. *What a world*

  4. Lori says:

    I must say I was quite surprised with your opinion of Joshua Sacco at opening night. I was at the game and enjoyed it…….but I’m in totally agreement with you on this one Gerry. Disgusting.

  5. Kathryn D. says:

    I did not like it at all! 😦

  6. graham says:

    Horrible!

  7. Wendy says:

    And here I thought I’d seen/heard it all. Remember that saying, “How low can you go?” I guess we may have found out! Then again, never say never.

  8. Terry says:

    Its amazing what some of these ad agencies put the crap together! I’m like “what don’t I get”!! I guess it explains they have a job and I’m still unemployed

  9. Kevin says:

    big goof, anyone else spot the chopped Onion, bout 9 seconds in?

  10. Marketing requires taking advantage of every opportunity and there are certainly plenty of eyes on Tiger right now. Nike knows people are watching, so why not confront it? In the end, all we should care about is the golf.

  11. Wendy says:

    You bet it’s a sick spot, Gerry!

  12. daredevyl283 says:

    Better eat yo’ Wheaties, Tiger!

  13. Pat says:

    Tiger who?

Leave a Reply

