Quality Humor

“Can we hold off writing the ceremony until after The Buddies?”

“Maybe we shouldn’t get married.”

Hanks and Scolari in "Bosom Buddies"

She won.  We wrote the wedding ceremony and I missed an episode of Bosom Buddies.”

So it’s very exciting (such is the state of my life that I find it very exciting) that the cast of the greatest sitcom ever is reuniting for some concocted TV Land special.

It is newsworthy because the little sitcom that lasted for 37 episodes over two seasons (1980-82) and two networks (ABC, then NBC) starred a then-unknown Tom Hanks.  His full and equal partner was Peter Scolari, and the premise was…well…just watch the open of the show, which explains the whole thing.

Critics mostly hated the show, because they found the premise of men in drag to be puerile.  (I was once called puerile, which was almost as good as being called sophomoric.) 

Hoffman in "Tootsie"

But at the very same time, critics were hailing the film “Tootsie,” which was basically Dustin Hoffman having fun in drag.  I decided critics hailed Hoffman for being ‘big screen star taking a chance’ and derided the unknowns for being ‘little screen unknowns acting stupid.’  I also decided to never mind critics again.

Bosom Buddies had a marvelous cast that also included Holland Taylor (“Two and a Half Men”), Telma Hopkins of Tony Orlando and Dawn fame (she was one of the Dawns), Donna Dixon (“Sunny, Sunny, Sunny”), and Wendie Jo Sperber, a marvelous character actress, who died in 2005.

The survivors will all be at that TV Land reunion.  And I’ll have the DVR running.

Now, about a “St. Elsewhere” reunion…

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, Noticed, People, TV Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Quality Humor

  1. RJM says:

    I LOVED that show also! When are they doing the reunion? I never watch TV other than the news at 5:30…of course on NBC

  2. Beckie says:

    What a great show! Way ahead of its time.

  3. Linda says:

    I, too, was a big fan of that show. Every single actor on it was wonderful. Am happy for Tom Hanks’ success, but always wondered why him and not Peter too. Different agents/advisors? Thanks for the memory, Gerry.

  4. Chip Gorra says:

    Bosom Buddies was a very funny show, with some terrific character actors. As for the critics: why do they think that it’s hysterically funny when a British comic dresses in drag, and puerile when an American does it? Is Tom Hanks any less of an actor than Eddie Izzard? I think not…

  5. I think Billy Wilder’s Some Like It Hot was the foundation on which much of what’s being mentioned was constructed. And, it could be argued, that the premise goes back to Shakespeare.

    Bosom Buddies was a great show and one of my faves. I had just broken into the ad agency business in Hartford and could relate to the roles these two guys played ( The ad agency guys!!!! )

  6. Gerry says:

    Thank you all for your comments. Nice to hear from some other Buddies fans.

  7. Dan McCarthy says:

    When you mentioned “best sitcom”, for a second I thought you were referring to NewsRadio…

Leave a Reply

