Now You Know

One of my colleagues found this today on Yahoo.com.  The headline was “Surprisingly Underpaid Celebrities and Other High-Profile People.”

Local news anchors
Since they often become local “celebrities,” many people assume their favorite news anchors earn an enviable salary. That’s often not true, especially in small markets. Entry-level news anchors earn approximately $27,000 a year upon entering the profession, and can earn as little as $30,000 after 5 years of service. Of course, wages depend on the viewership and network range, but even midsize city “celebrities” often maintain multiple jobs to provide for themselves. In Cincinnati, for example, reporters typically earn only $40,000, while salaries for those in the big leagues can be as much as half a million.

So I bummed a buck from him.  And I’m not going to pay it back.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Noticed, TV Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Now You Know

  1. stratos bonos says:

    That is interesting. I think I always knew it depended upon the market, but I never realized how little could be made; like 27,000. What is the Hartford market considered, I would think it’s up there because of it’s location between Boston and New york? Just curious

  2. How are the tips!!!!???

    Happy Easter/Passover….

Leave a Reply

