Carbo Loaded

MOBILE, Ala. — Bernie Carbo launched the greatest pinch-hit home run in Red Sox history. He admitted he was high on drugs during the 1975 World Series.

“I probably smoked two joints, drank about three or four beers, got to the ballpark, took some [amphetamines], took a pain pill, drank a cup of coffee, chewed some tobacco, had a cigarette, and got up to the plate and hit,’’ Carbo said.

The Sox were four outs from elimination against Cincinnati’s Big Red Machine in Game 6 when Carbo came off the bench to smash a three-run home run into the center-field bleachers, tying the score at 6-6. The blast set up Carlton Fisk’s arm-waving, 12th-inning walkoff home run for the ages.   (Boston Globe)

Bernie's big blast.

Ted Williams always insisted hitting a baseball thrown by a major league pitcher was the hardest thing to do in sports.  Which actually makes Carbo’s drugs, pills, tobacco, and booze-addled feat somewhat superhuman when you think about it.  Not that it was a particularly bright thing to do.  (I had to throw in that last line for any dim bulb who might think I’m endorsing what he did.  God, I hate political correctness.) 

Carbo’s story also includes sex abuse and finding Jesus. 

Screenplay, anyone?

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Living in the Past, Noticed, People, Sports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Carbo Loaded

  1. I remember this game, since at that time, I had been a Big Red Machine Fan. I had been one of those since I had been a kid.

    I had a HUGE crush on Johnny Bench. I thought he could do no wrong. I mean how many other baseball players during a game (I think it was an All Star Game), would swing at balls that were actually thrown to be ‘Walks’?. I mean come on, he would lean into each throw. He didn’t want a ‘walk’ he wanted a ball he could hit!

    It wasn’t until then I realized what ‘Drama’ was watching the Yankees, and Red Sox.

  2. Kevin says:

    The Bernie Carbo, I think I ordered that once in Olive Garden in Walpole.

    Speaking of legendary baseball feats performed while high,if you’ve never seen Doc Ellis’s account of pitching on Acid, this vid had me in tears a few weeks ago. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_vUhSYLRw14

  3. Before there was Red Sox Nation, there was Carbo Nation. Bernie just being Bernie I guess.

  4. Steve says:

    The worst swing ever made by a major leaguer, prior to the home run, was a result of the two joints and the three or four beers. Then the amphetamines, the coffee, and the chew kicked in. Think they helped his swing speed??

Leave a Reply

