Payback?

Is that what this is?

After a few days in paradise, you come back to catastrophic weather and the news that your piece of *&#! car needs so much work that the mechanic won’t give your wife an estimate over the phone, but wants to break the news to you face-to-face.  (Don’t ever talk to me about ‘helping Detroit’ again.)

Actually, I think everything somehow balances out.  After a beautiful week away, a reality check was apparently in order. 

Why?  If I knew the answer, I’d segue from TV news to televangelism.  (Where the big dough is.)

I suppose that’s why they call it vacation.  And it is good to be home.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, It's all about me, Travel, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Payback?

  1. Well Gerry, while I have been away since yesterday, and will be back tomorrow – I have missed you very much. Being here in NY now that my mother has moved into my brother’s house has been no vacation for me that is sure. I’m very tempted to go into the kitchen later, ‘down’ the last bit of wine that is in the bottle and then maybe relax.

    I knew this wasn’t going to be a vacation,,, when it comes to the Jewish Holidays I seem to be the one buying all the food besides cooking it for the past 10 years. This is also hearing my brother ‘bought’ food. Well, if you call a roast that can feed three people and enough soup for six people he bought enough food. Too bad the holiday is a week old. I don’t know what they are going to eat when I leave tomorrow, but for right now, they will have to fend for themselves.

    Ok,,, as for your car,,, what type is it? The only reason I’m asking, my boyfriend has told me the engine light is on my car for the past three days (he is in CT with my car). plus the gas gauge isn’t working. It’s a 2004 Ford Taurus with about 56500 miles on it. I’m afraid of what this will cost me.

    • Gerry says:

      Sharon, all I will tell you is if your engine light is on, you will not pass emissions. I know.

      • Gerry,

        I won’t have to worry about my Emission Test until October, but I would kind of like to find out what the problem is before then. When I was younger, I had in two different cars have rods blown,,, let me tell not fun being in the car when it ‘explodes’ like that.

    • Li'l Em-Kel says:

      Sharon –

      Go to an Auto-Zone store and have your car checked. I just did this myself here in Florida and they check it for free. They put a little gizmo up under the dash that gives them the code for what’s wrong. Then they actually explain it. They won’t turn the light out for you, but at least you’ll get an idea what to expect when you take it to a repair shop – both diagnosis-wise and money-wise.

      Call them first to make sure they do this. Ya got nuthin’ to lose. Good luck!

      • Gerry says:

        Great advice. I just usually look at the car and swear at it.

      • Hi,

        Thanks for the great advice. I’ll give them a call tomorrow when I get home. I just have this thing that since I very rarely drive anymore, and he goes out almost every day, he waits a few days to tell me there is a ‘slight’ problem with the car. He tells me this on the drive to NY. Yeah! He drove the car back to CT last night, and as far as I know it’s been sitting in the apartment lot ever since then.

        Maybe I’ll even call them on the way home. Will have to drop the dog off first though. He has been in NY with me, while the cat and the boyfriend have been home.

        By the way Gerry, I did curse. A LOT!! I miss seeing you on T.V. Well I’ll ‘see’ you tomorrow.

  2. ” After a beautiful week away, a reality check was in order. ”

    Ah, boyo. If you were Irish that would be chiseled into the stones in the wall surrounding your castle. I get nervous when things are going well…

    Welcome back to The World

  3. Li’l em

    My people just talked to the Car Talk people. Expect a call soon.

  4. I have a great 93 Volvo wagon that runs like a top, has no rust..and..even the clock works! $3,000 and it’s yours (I’ll buy another 93)!!!

  5. Mary says:

    Well I can top the engine light on, we bought out the lease on our 2003 Audi, wasn’t giving it back with low mileage without compensation, they sure charge if it’s over. Gave it to our daughter to make she had a safe car, the day we signed papers, engine light comes on, Audi’s response, can’t see any problems, so don’t go looking further, ok. Had taken it to emissions last year, crossed my fingers while it was being tested and watched several tech look at the monitor, the owner finally comes over to tell me he was going to keep a copy of the results, because it was the first car they had ever seen with the engine light on and it still passed. Hopefully when emissions comes up again, my daughter will have traded it in.

  6. graham says:

    Kick the car Gerry………..can’t hurt it now and you’ll feel much better!

  7. Linda says:

    You are so right that everything balances out in the long run. That’s why it’s good to enjoy when times are good and to remember when times are bad, they will be good again. You were showing a little tan last night on the news. Looked good!

  8. Kathryn D. says:

    Yes, the tan is looking good! So glad you’re back.

Leave a Reply

