Left! Left! Left!

That’s what I keep repeating to myself as I’m driving my snazzy white Suzuki around Barbados.

Barbados used to be a British colony, so they drive on the left here.  And they have lots of “roundabouts” (rotaries), which you enter to the left.  It’s really not hard at all once you get used to it.

Steering wheel on right.

Of course, every time I try to enter the car I go directly to the passenger side.  And every time I think I’m using the directional (which is on the right side of the steering wheel), I put on the windshield wiper (which is on the left side).  I may have the cleanest windshield on the island.

Today we have a new hotel to drive to and a wedding to attend.

Beep beep.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Left! Left! Left!

  1. Pat says:

    Now if you just rented a Suzuki motorcycle, this whole left / right issue wouldn’t exist. Well, not in the vehicle at least. Still got that road thing to contend with. But at least you wouldn’t be trapped in a steel and plastic box.

  2. Gerry,

    When I first saw your title, I could hear my mother yelling at my dad that he should have turned left on a particular street and he turned right. Or when my boyfriend asks me where the exit is, and I say ‘left’ and he goes right, and I tell him it’s his other ‘left’ and then of course the GPS says either ‘left’ or ‘make a U-turn’.

    Since I always get in on the passenger side now, I’m sure if we were where you are, my boyfriend would think that I would be the one driving. Hmm since I have a problem with my right foot, I just can’t seem to picture me trying to do drive on the left side of the road, so I give you lots of courage!

  3. James says:

    I have to travel to the UK two or three times each year, and unless I’m going to stay in London or other major city, have to rent an auto. That first 24 hours is like a Wes Craven movie, with deadly things coming at you from strange directions, when you least expect them.

    I’m convinced that the British invented the round-about to get even with the Americans for the Revolution!

    Mind how you go, Gerry – mind how you go…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

