Just Across the Street

We’re staying just across the street from what the locals call Miami Beach.

There’s a guy who works out of a converted bus selling flying fish cutters and Banks beer.  In other words, life is good.

This is the view just to the left of the beach.  To be continued…

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Just Across the Street

  1. doug says:

    man i need a vacation. i can feel the sun and breeze just looking at that shot.

  2. Michael says:

    Been there. Done that.
    Wondering why we’re not doing that right now…

    I’m insanely jealous.

    Michael

  3. Gerry,

    Ok, so I don’t respond to the Rum & Coke blog due to I had some Long Island Iced Tea that night from Red Lobster and I was feeling, well, let’s just say I couldn’t trust myself in trying to type 🙂

    Now you show us the beautiful waters, blue skies, while we deal with chilliness and rain? Oh Gerry don’t you have some feelings for us fellow followers (now you know why I couldn’t type the other day – try typing ‘feelings for fellow followers’ when your fingers just say ‘nope, ain’t going to happen’)?

    So what is it you will bring back to us from your having a fantastic time for Keisha’s wedding (Please give her and her husband a hug for us)? A tan? A fish? How about a coconut? I love those!

    Enjoy your time, have a great time at the wedding, and dance the night away!

  4. Well, you can imagine how surprised I was this morning as I was having my cup of coffee at the 11th Street Diner in South Beach. I’d just perused the Miami Herald on line and went to your blog. And, of course, discovered…

    Just kidding. Have a great time, and use plenty of sun block.

  5. Gerry's Mentor says:

    My level of hate for you has reached new heights!

  6. Melissa says:

    Looks like your having a wonderful time!
    can’t wait to see pictures of Keisha’s dress!

  7. Gerry says:

    Thank you all for your comments. I wish you could all be here, but since you can’t, I’ll raise a glass to you at cocktail hour. Which it just happens to be now. Gotta go!

  8. graham says:

    Big Deal Gerry. This is EXACTLY the same picture I see here in CT as I look out my office window right now. I can see the beautiful flowers in full bloom, the birds are sitting in the trees laden with native fruit and there are bunnies playing on the carpet of fairway-grade grass.

    Oh no……….just woke up………opened my eyes and what do I see……….. brown, brown, brown.

    Wow, that was a NICE dream though!

    O.K. you win this one, but at least we can pretend.

    See you when you get back.

  9. GerryG says:

    Congratulations to Keisha and her soon-to-be-husband. And congratulations to you for your excellent decision to attend the wedding! A blessing on all your heads (and please raise your glass high to all of us back home, where Brad predicts AM snow showers on Fri).

  10. jen says:

    That is a fabulous beach! Next to it is enterprise beach another great one. Sounds like a wonderful celebration and you found one of the best flying fish sandwiches on the island!

    • Gerry says:

      It’s a fabulous spot, isn’t it? The Little Arches hotel was great, too. I’ll try to post something on that later.

      • jen says:

        Yes I figured that is where you were- didn’t want to sound like a looney but there isn’t many other place to stay around there. Ha Ha We have a time share there- that was just torn down. Little Arches- best lunch menu- beautiful hotel! Don’t miss Josef’s either if you still have time

Leave a Reply

