The Debates

14 candidates for Governor in 2 days. 

Mark Pazniokas, who was a panelist in the Friday debate with the six Democrats, probably put it best in the CT Mirror when he compared Thursday’s debate to the lightning round of “Jeopardy,” with me standing in for Alex Trebek.

For what it’s worth, here’s my takeaway:  you can only do so much with so many candidates in so short a time.  But with so many voters undecided (50% of Republicans, 44% of Democrats, according to this week’s Quinnipiac poll)), we put them out there so you could see who they are and what they’re selling.

And what I was reminded of was that we have a lot of local talent we rarely hear of or hear from.  Tom Marsh, the Republican first selectman of Chester, acquitted himself exceptionally well in the Republican debate.  Rudy Marconi, his Democratic counterpart from Ridgefield, did the same.

It’s a process.  Happy to be a part of it.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, People, Politics, TV Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Debates

  1. When did the word ” takeaway ” enter the language? NPR has a show with that name. I’ve been seeing it, hearing it often. Safire, or his successor, have probably written about it in the Times. It’s a good word. But it makes me think sometimes what is taken away is like a Whopper with cheese and an order of fries. Or an eggroll and fried rice. Which is filling, but you’re hungry for more in a while.

  2. Gerry says:

    Funny thing…I’d never used the word before. I think it was stuck in my head because a former colleague is the executive producer of that NPR show, and I was talking about him Thursday night.

    And now I’m hungry for Chinese. Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

