Like A Punch to the Gut

The previous post was about a random accident that took a life.  So is this one.  Except this time, I knew who the victim was.  I knew him.

The police report came in just before our 11pm news.  It detailed the accident, and released the names of those involved.  He was just 24, out for a ride on his motorcycle on a beautiful day.  It ended badly on Route 44 in Mansfield. It wasn’t his fault.

This isn’t the first time I’ve had to report on the death of someone I knew.  Fortunately, this time I was able to beg off reading the story once we learned who it was.  I could have.  I would have if I’d had to.  But given the choice…

I had just seen the young man’s father less than two hours before it happened.  I’ve known him for years.  We talked.  His business was doing well, his family was well, life was good. 

Then…I just can’t imagine.

In the news business, we deal with tragedy in bulk.  For every sad, awful story we have to tell, we never  know how many people are on the receiving end whose lives have been directly touched…affected…shattered. 

We do our best to show respect.  And every now and then, we do our best not to cry.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, People. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Like A Punch to the Gut

  1. Jerry says:

    And I know I couldn’t do that report. A friend of mine lost his only son a few years back, I cried for a week.

  2. Linda says:

    We really don’t think about an anchor or reporter possibly knowing someone in a story. My thoughts and prayers go out to you and the family of the young man.

  3. Janice says:

    How ironic that I sent you the ax scene photo. You didn’t know at the time I didn’t know. I am so sorry.

  4. stratos says:

    I’m very sorry for the family and you. It’s always sad when their is a loss of life, but when it’s sudden and unexpected it is soooo much harder to cope with

Leave a Reply

