And Davy Crockett, Too

Peter Graves, Alex Chilton, and now Fess Parker makes three. 

Which child of the 50’s didn’t know this song?

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Living in the Past, Noticed, People and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to And Davy Crockett, Too

  1. As my old Journalism professor – Larry Pinkham – at UMass used to say. ” The trinity is always with us. ”

    These things do seem to come in 3’s.

  2. rick says:

    Another person from my childhood gone. I wore my ‘coon’ hat all day.

  3. Harold W. Porter says:

    Mr. Brooks,

    Nice job juggling all 8 GOP candidates last night. I’m a total CT political junkie, but I hadn’t heard of all of the men on stage last night. Who was that guy from Branford? Perhaps extending him an invitation in the future can be avoided. I don’t like silencing a candidate, but at some point the sheer number of candidates prevents a real discussion of the issues.

    HWP

    • Gerry says:

      Thank you Harold. It was a different experience. We decided to invite all candidates knowing that next time around there will probably be only 2 people involved in a debate. Thanks for watching!

  4. Ah yes…but can you sing the “Ranger Andy” song?

  5. richb says:

    Speaking of Ranger Andy…do you think he’d be able to sing that old favorite “You’ll Find It In The Bible” in today’s PC world?

  6. James says:

    The man had a natural warmth that always came through. Always found it interesting that he made far more money in business ventures than television.

    I’ve stayed numerous times at the Double Tree in Santa Barbara and the Los Olivos Wine Country Inn. Both places were extremely well managed.

    On one occassion in the mid-80s I was sunning myself at the Double Tree when I heard a familiar voice asking if everything at hotel was to my satisfaction. I opened my eyes to see Fess Parker standing next to me. We chatted for a few moments and he seemed genuinely interested in who I was and what I thought about his establishment.

    It’s good to see a nice individual succede. RIP, Fess…

Leave a Reply

