You Can’t Make This Stuff Up

From our 5:30 news on Tuesday:

A FREAK ACCIDENT IS BLAMED FOR THE DEATH OF A JOGGER IN SOUTH CAROLINA.

A 38-YEAR OLD MAN WAS RUNNING AND LISTENING TO HIS IPOD NEAR HILTON HEAD LAST NIGHT … WHEN HE WAS KILLED BY A SMALL PLANE AS IT MADE AN EMERGENCY LANDING.

AUTHORITIES SAY THE SINGLE ENGINE PLANE LOST ITS PROPELLER, AND THE PILOT’S VISION WAS BLOCKED BY OIL ON THE WINDSHIELD.

Usually I forget about these stories before the next commercial break.  But this one got me to pondering how random life (and death) can be.

Really, what are the odds of losing your life during what had to be an idyllic moment.  Jogging on the beach at Hilton Head, listening to music. 

And you get hit by an airplane.

I was sufficiently astounded to google the story for more information, and discovered the victim was a family man from Georgia named Robert Jones.  By all accounts, a wonderful guy.  The plane came in from behind him, so he really never saw it coming.

Wow, wow, wow.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, Noticed and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to You Can’t Make This Stuff Up

  1. totally random. makes you wonder why we just don’t live every day to the fullest.

  2. I hope he was not “texting” at the time…

  3. James says:

    Depending on your view of ‘what comes next’, Mr. Jones was very unlucky or he gets to enjoy the hereafter much sooner than most. I prefer to think that it’s the latter.

    I do feel sad for his family, who are suddenly without a husband and father. This will be an extremely difficult time for them.

  4. Linda says:

    I saw this story this morning and, like you, I was astounded at the circumstances. I was moaning and groaning about what a rotten day I had yesterday serving jury duty, but this story kind of put all that into perspective.

  5. David M says:

    HowTragic!. Reminds me of the time I was all most runover by a tow truck.

  6. Incredible story, Gerry. He didn’t see it coming, never knew what hit him. Came in from behind him. Reminds me of the refrain in Dylan’s ” Ballad of a Thin Man. ” ” Something is happening and you don’t know what it is, do you, Mr. Jones? ”

    An irony is that Mr. Jones might have lived in one of those gated communities on HH. Those gates designed to protect residents, keep them far from harm’s way.

  7. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    A guy gets killed by an airplane while jogging and he’s STILL just the second most famous Robert Jones from Georgia! Amazing.

  8. That’s why I urged the boss to hire him back in the 80s. Willie Mays like catch Li’l em. Your MENSA membership just got renewed. ( I’m serious. He is a MENSA guy )

Leave a Reply

