Super 88

So at the age of 88, Betty White will finally host Saturday Night Live.   Yes, a Facebook campaign helped, but more importantly, she has a fan in SNL boss Lorne Michaels.

But consider this when you watch SNL on May 8.  When Lorne Michaels was all of 7 years old, Betty White was the boss of her own show, “Life With Elizabeth.”  She created, produced and starred in the sitcom, and for some reason it’s one of the first shows I remember.

She was ahead of her time in 1952, and in 2010, she may still be ahead of her time. 

Oh, and one other thing.  The voice that will announce, “and now your host, Betttttttttty Whiiiiiiiiite?”  It belongs to Don Pardo.  He’s 92.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in People, TV Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Super 88

  1. my mom just turned 85. Mom’s sister is 89. My mother in law is 89. I’m going to share this one with them.

    ( He wrote, to the tune of Mr. Zimmerman’s ”
    Forever Young. ” )

  2. Isn’t this a great thing! I remember watching her on Password with her hubby Allen Luden. I love the idea that she will be on Saturday Night Live. I have always loved her. I think they should get Cloris Leachman on SNL next.

    Two old broads who have ‘blue’ minds but not blue hair! As for Don Pardo,,, who would have ‘thunk it’?

  3. Bob Porrazzo says:

    Don Pardo now I guess has the title of longest employed man at NBC. And there was even a time he did booth announcing at WNBC-TV, now NBC CT’s sister station.

    You will hear and see what I mean in this clip from thirty years ago when Don Pardo did the sign-off report on channel 4. And later on in the video you will hear him give the station ID. But for the sign-off announcement (you can tell I am a fan of this lost local TV art!!!!) you will hear a different NBC announcer, the late Arthur Gary. If only Don Pardo could intone…”And now, our national anthem.”

Leave a Reply

