Lost and Found

My winter-long purge of things long buried in boxes in the basement is nearing an end.

Over the past few days, I’ve been combing through stuff.  Stuff from elementary school on.  Stuff I can’t believe I saved and stuff I’m glad I did save.  (And they’re one and the same.)

Notice the craftsmanship.

For instance, this oxidized piece of copper came rolling out of a box.  I actually had to stare at it for a half-minute until I realized what it was.  A ring.  But not just any ring.  It was the ring I made in metal shop at Winch Park Junior High.  

Now, the memory of me in metal shop is only slightly more hilarious than the memory of me in wood shop. 

I wore it until my finger turned green, about a week after I made it. 

Say hello to my little friend.

And I was reunited with my hair pick.  My trusty little tool to keep my Afro of the early 70s full and, well, poofy.

I was tempted to run it through my hair one last time.  But there is no hair where it once grew wild and free.  And I was afraid I’d leave angry red scratches on my scalp, which would be so awkward to explain on television.

I disposed of the hair pick and the ring, and other little mementos of a life still very much in progress, but in need of less stuff.

Still, it was nice to have a few final moments with these things, and I’ll share a few more in the days ahead.  Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to sift through my old GHO credentials.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Lost and Found

  1. Dan McCarthy says:

    I wish I could laugh about the pick but my old man had one of those in the ’70s as well…

  2. Gerry,

    I found myself in NY yesterday (well Sunday), went on the pretense of having my taxes done (been going to the same guy for almost 20 years, and he is fantastic! I’d drive four hours one way if I had to go to go to him!), but also to check around the house that my mom just moved out of a few weeks ago. She is now living with my brother, which is tough for me to say will be the last place she will be living.

    When I went there two weeks ago, I picked up my toy chest that I’ve had since I was five years old, my grandfather had made it for me, so I wanted to make sure that my brother and son didn’t ‘toss it’ out. So I’m going to use it as a coffee table – plus use it as storage.

    Walking around a house that I lived in for 12 years was rough. There are still some things in there that need to be moved out yet, or tossed out. I grabbed a couple of things to bring back here,,, Bowls that had been my grandmother that has gold on them, therefore can’t be washed in the dishwasher. There are a couple other things I want to bring back with me, like a magazine rack that had been my dad’s that my mom took over when he passed away. Since it’s in the old house, I want it, so if I can get there this coming weekend, I’ll put it in the trunk of my car. There are a few stuffed animals that I’m trying to remember if they were mine or my son’s or if I gave them to him. Not sure.

    I did smile about the ring you showed. It made me think of the ‘skirt’ I made in Home Ec. oh man it was soooooooooooo bad. I couldn’t wait to toss it out! I do better with crochet than regular sewing.

    When I sat next down to my mom, I saw she had two coffee tables that had been through so many moves! They are still good from when we lived in Hartford when I was a girl. I don’t remember where she bought them from though. I’m sure the store has gone out of business,,, just like the Jewler that gave ‘Piece of Mind Guarentee’. Blanking out of his name though. I just remember the POMG part.

    With you going through boxes, my going through a house and during the day I will be at the State Capital Building, some place I haven’t been since I was a child. This time though, I get to talk,,, I won’t have to be ‘ssshhhed up’ by the teacher!

    This building means so much to so many. Not due to the politicians are there, but that will help somewhat. I’m going there due to MS Awarensess Week. I do have Multiple Sclerosis so even when I was a kid, I was ‘scuffling’ along the hallowed halls, this time I’ll be scuffling along due to my walker. What things will I bring home this time? I know I don’t have anything left from the first time I went there. Mom didn’t keep those kind of things. I’m different though.

    I do have to say that I ‘kidnapped’ my son’s Scout shirt, cup, and vest the last time I was in NY. I’ll have to sneek the belt out when I’m there on Saturday.

    It’s odd what us ‘Baby Boomers’ like to hold on to, and what our mother’s didn’t. Wonder what my son will want to hold on to when he has kids.

  3. Jerry says:

    Ger, shouldn’t you be saving those for The Gerry Brooks Museum of Broadcast Paraphernalia?

  4. Linda says:

    I bet the guys who designed the new NBC30 building incorporated a room just for The Gerry Brooks Museum of Broadcast Paraphernalia knowing they can make big bucks on admission!

  5. JIM says:

    I still have an end table that I built in shop circa 1960.Proudest day of my young life bringing that home and proving to my father that I still had all of my fingers.

  6. cat says:

    I remember going through boxes as well,
    It was one of those days when my mother decided she may die one day soon and I needed to get things out of her home.(She is by the way, 80 something now and still going strong, bless her little heart)

    I came across the “plastered hand print Christmas ornament” with the pipe cleaner hanger, its was a beauty, bright orange and gold spots,,, yikes! Just what that silver tree cried out for.

    Then came the genuine red ruby earrings from Woolworths , the best Christmas gift I ever gave my mother, (well in my eyes) I can remember my dad trying so hard that Christmas Eve Day, doing his best to talk me out of those, but in my eyes, they were the jewels of the Nile.
    I remember the look on my mothers eyes Christmas morning when she opened the box, she did a splendid job indeed showing me how much she loved them, even went so far as wearing them for a week and then developed a nasty infection…. So that made me chuckle when I saw she packed them up and “regifted” after all these years.

    My last big funny was a blouse I had made during Home Education,, why that was taught I’ll never know, didn’t help half the girls I knew.
    At any rate, starting the shirt in Sept, got it done before school let out in May, it was going to be our final grade, very important to pass, well, it went over the head, but stopped at the chest,,,, who knew one could grow so quickly in a matter months.. : (
    My first D ever, umm, grade I mean.

    Its fun to find things from your past, especially when they were saved with love, one can only ask, “What the heck was I thinkin”?..

  7. cat says:

    When your looking for that A, thats all that mattered, at the time….

    I figured I’ll keep it, maybe one day in my 80’s gravity will have taken over and I might just have a shot at it.. ~smile~

Leave a Reply

