Interesting Observation

Good article in the Hartford Courant on the growing Nepalese community in West Hartford.

It was the end quote that really struck me.  The words of Bishnu Lama, who owns a local restaurant. 

“In Nepal, life is much slower, and you know the whole neighborhood. If you run out of salt, you go to a neighbor. You’re never alone in Nepal,” he said.

“America is a great country. But it’s different. Here, you work so much that sometimes you don’t have time to eat. It’s easy to be alone in a crowd. Old people stay inside and just watch TV. People here have a dog and cat but have no one to talk to.”

Whether you agree or not, sometimes it’s good to see our lives through a fresh set of eyes.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, People and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Interesting Observation

  1. I just read the article. It’s amazing on how it reminded me of what my life was like when I was little and the ‘neighborhood’ kicked in’ for everybody. When my mom went into labor with me, the neighbors took care of my brothers. When my grandfather and favorite uncle passed away and their funerals were in NY, my folks didn’t want me to see them cry, nor any of the other relatives break down, so they again left me with the neighbors. I slept at the neighbor across the street, had dinners with the neigbor who lived next door.

    If you needed salt, sugar, coffee, a babysitter, you had somebody there 24/7 without any pausing to question them.

    Now a days, most of us don’t know our neighbors, we are too busy. We say hello and good by to them, maybe even as how they are doing. Who do you go to if you need somebody? What is there an emergency?

    I have a lot of friends through Facebook. Some of who I used to work with, some of who are my family, some of who I went to school with. Some of who I have never met face to face. Yet everytime I am on my laptop, my dog is on my lap, my cat is sleeping behind me.

    The words:
    “America is a great country. But it’s different. Here, you work so much that sometimes you don’t have time to eat. It’s easy to be alone in a crowd. Old people stay inside and just watch TV. People here have a dog and cat but have no one to talk to.”

    are so true, and goes straight to the core.

  2. graham says:

    I couldn’t agree more. Yesterday we took time to go out to lunch. Several “Single” people were sitting all by themselves because they had no one to go out to eat with them. One time in Rochester N.Y. we were in a diner where they had a “singles” table. People came in and sat there if they chose to or not, but if they did they had instant company. Looked like some of them came every Sunday and had this terrific group of new friends. Some seemed to be there for the first time, but warmly welcomed.
    I’ve suggested this to several people in the restaurant business around here, but found no interest at all. Too bad, it would have been so nice for those folks yesterday to have some to share a meal and some conversation with while out.
    Of course, I’m no better. I don’t even know the last name of my “new” next door neighbors who moved in about 5 years ago.
    I don’t know how to solve this, but it is a very sad commentary on today’s society.

  3. Wendy says:

    After reading the responses above, I can’t add anything. They said it all and eloquently at that! So, I shall simply agree with them!! (And, some say I talk too much! Hmmmphh!)

Leave a Reply

