See You In Sochi

I’m having a twinge of Olympics withdrawal.  I suppose two weeks is enough, but it was so…pleasant. 

What a joy to spend two weeks every four years watching lugers and sledders, ski jumpers and snowboarders and skaters.  Athletes who, by and large, are in it for the love of their sport.

I know they don’t disappear, that there are other competitions.  But there’s nothing like the Olympics as a venue for the athletes of the world to come together.  For the world itself to come together, Plushenko and Putin notwithstanding.

Oh Canada!

I thought it was nice that the U.S. won the medal count, but honestly, I really didn’t care.  I simply enjoyed the performances.  I even thought it was kind of nice that the host country won the gold medal nearest and dearest to its collective heart.  And what a nice host country Canada was. 

Right down to that man from Toronto who played the harmonica and the guitar in the closing ceremony. 

Long may you run.

 

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, People, Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to See You In Sochi

  1. Gerry, Gerry, Gerry,,, I was with you all the way until you mentioned ‘that man with the guitar and harmonica’. Even the Putin comment was great.

    I guess I’m in Olympia withdrawl,,, didn’t know what to watch.

  2. Kevin says:

    Best entry of 2010 thus far Gerry.
    Sharon, C’mon!!! Neal truly crosses the generations, we’re talkin the Silent, Boomers, Xer’s and the Millennials/Y, etc.
    Russia/Soviet’s have the longest anthem ever, a little shorter than stairway to heaven, truly exhausting to listen too. Putin is such a little drama queen.

    • Gerry says:

      Thank you. Funny thing is, I’m not a huge Neil Young fan, but I just liked the sight of the man standing there strumming, blowing and singing such an appropriate song.

  3. Gerry and Kevin, I’m sorry out of the Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young, the only one I don’t like doing solo’s is Neil Young. I don’t know what it is, but I can’t listen to him.

    I thought what William Shatner, and Michael J. Fox was great. Plus I like Michael Bublea (I can’t believe I just blanked out how to spell his last name!)

  4. James says:

    Every four years the Olympics reminds us what the world could be if we were capable of rising above our differences.

    I loved the hockey final and had such mixed emotions about the outcome. I wanted the US team to win, but I also wanted Canada to win that all-important (to them) gold medal as well. It almost felt like we’d be a poor guest to take that gold medal away from them.

    This time around I got hooked on Curling. I have no idea why I suddenly ‘got it’ after having watched (and largely ignored) in other years, but suddenly it made sense.

    The only thing about these Olympics that bothered me was the reaction to the Canadian women’s hockey team celebration. It would seem that the US is exporting its political correctness disease. If you look at Olympic history, it was apparently OK for judges to trade scores in figure skating for years – but heaven forbid that a group of young women should come back out on the ice drinking beer & champaign and (block the kids’ eyes) smoking cigars! It would seem we’ve forgotten the simple joys of living.

    Lastly the Olympics reminds me of the poor state of television. After ‘the thrill of victory and the agony of defeat’, 90% of what’s on prime time each night is pretty boring.

  5. James I do agree with you, that with our Olympians getting along with one another so well, why is it that our countries can’t do the same? We should take a page out of the Olympians page – well except for the Girls Hockey Team.

    I also have to agree about the mixed emotions about the men’s Hockey team. As much as I wanted the U.S.A. team to come with another Mircale, a lot of the Hockey players we have when they play here in the U.S.A. are from Canada. So, in a way we did win.

    As for Putin,,, well, he is firing people due to they didn’t win enough medals? Sounds like a spoiled child who didn’t get a desert after dinner.

Leave a Reply

