Defending the Peacock

Seriously, if 8.2 million Americans can find USA-Canada on MSNBC – that’s about a month’s worth of viewers for Keith Olbermann – do the folks at NBC think their Olympic viewership on the network would have suffered badly by airing hockey in prime time?  (Tim Cowlishaw, Dallas News)

Dear Moron Tim,

The answer is yes.  Yes, viewership would have suffered badly by airing hockey in prime time.  Really, really badly.  NBC’s primetime Olympic show is just that, a show.  A variety show with something for everybody.  And Bob Costas is Ed Sullivan with a personality, introducing one performer after another.

You think the NHL isn’t getting its money’s worth from letting its players participate in the Olympics?  That NBC isn’t giving the NHL and its players the over-the-air network showcase they deserve?   Tim, there’s a reason NBC pays nothing for the rights to broadcast NHL games.

MSNBC, CNBC, and Universal Sports (OK, Universal Sports is pretty obscure) are perfect venues for longer-form live events such as hockey and curling.  It’s a business, Tim.  NBC shelled out a ton of dough to broadcast these games.  You want commercial-free hockey on a network?  Call PBS and volunteer to host the pledge drive.

Tim, it’s been a tough year for NBC.  The Leno thing didn’t work out, and The Peacock could use a hit show or two.  You should understand, Tim.  You work in the newspaper business, for heaven’s sake.  But Tim, the Olympics?  That’s one thing the folks at 30 Rock do really well.  Thanks for watching.

Sincerely,

Gerry

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Media, Noticed, Sports, TV Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Defending the Peacock

  1. I’m sitting here with tears running down my face from laughing so much! Yes, I did want to see Hockey on NBC, no I didn’t want to see Curling since I fell asleep with that one.

    I do think it’s interesting that NBC does show repeats of some of the events after the news. I feel sorry for the newscasters who have to stay up late (an hour or more) to do their broadcast, then there are the repeats of the days events.

    I happen to be one of those people who can get the other channels to see the other sport from the Olympics, but I happen for some reason prefer to watch what is on NBC. Yet when I read NBC paid something like $82 million for the rights to have the Olympics and are crying now due to viewership is down. Well, I think a lot of people got so disgusted by what happened between Leno and Obrian, that they don’t want to watch what is on this channel other than the news!

  2. John says:

    I know you work for NBC, but come on you have to agree with me and Tim that MSNBC is the worst network on the television today. I like NBC a lot don’t get me wrong, but the liberal slant of MSNBC with it’s hate-spewing pundits like Olbermann and Ed Schultz. That’s why I watch Fox News with its centrist message. And it truly amazes me that executive who switched Leno around still has a job when so many other Americans who wouldn’t make that misinformed decision could be holding the position. Keep up the good work at the local NBC affiliate, Gerry, I love your show!

    • Gerry says:

      John, thank you. Television is a cyclical business. NBC’s been in the dumps, but it’ll come back sooner or later. (Hopefully sooner.)

      As for the cable news channels, I don’t watch any of the talk shows on any of the channels. Why? I’ve written about it often, but the bottom line is I don’t care what any of them have to say. I know some of the hosts, and I’ve worked with others, and to think that any of them are influencing America chills me to the bone.

  3. Katie Daly says:

    I’m laughing uncontrollably that someone thinks Fox has a “centrist message”. No offense intended, but, really? Love ’em, hate ’em, ignore ’em, but, it is not a “centrist” network with a moderate viewpoint.

  4. Kevin says:

    I’m a little right or left of center depending on who you talk to, but any rational observer knows Fox is to the right, MSNBC is to the left, and CNN is for that dude with chunky black specs, who uses his Macbook at starbucks.

    Overall I’ve been very happy with the coverage and the format in general, why someone would complain about a commercial free game on MSNBC is beyond me, who doesnt have cable, Sat or internet these days.

    I wonder what Colishaw has to say about todays coverage, of the game ,which was another awesome one right down to the very end. I was able to watched the first quarter on the web and the other 2 on TV, I can’t complain about that.

    By the way great piece on Hamden’s Quick on the news tonight.

Leave a Reply

