Plumbing the Olympic Spirit

Snowboarding, like most Olympic sports, only registers in my little brain once every four years.  But when I do offer the sport my quadrennial attention as I did last night, I can only say, “Wow.”

Ten men qualified for the U.S. Olympic snowboarding team, based on performances at Grand Prix and World Cup events during the 2009-10 season.

Jonathan Cheever

The 11th was on his way to a plumbing job in Wellesley, Massachusetts on Wednesday when he called in to the Dale & Holley Show on WEEI radio.

His name is Jonathan Cheever.  He’s 24 years old, and has the broadest of Boston accents.

Cheever narrowly missed out on a trip to Vancouver.  But he has his journeyman plumber’s license, he’s making money to finance his upcoming trip to Europe for competition, and all is right in his world. 

Upset that he didn’t make the team?  Nah.  There’ll be another Olympics.   Feel bad for Lindsey Jacobellis?  Yeah, she’s our rock star, but she’ll be OK.  She still had the thrill, ya know?

It was a wickid good interview.  And Olympics or not, this kid’s gonna be OK. 

After all, he’s a plummah.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Media, People, Sports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Plumbing the Olympic Spirit

  1. Linda says:

    I think we could all learn a lesson from some of these young athletes. Enjoy life. Learn from disappointments and then move on. Get over yourself and enjoy what the world has to offer. Don’t blame others, accept responsibility. It’s nice to see some positivity.

  2. Dee says:

    Last night’s competition was some great TV viewing – the thrill of victory! Makes me want to take a walk in the snow – heck maybe even climb a snowbank!

  3. I have to admit, the sport is growing on me. More because of the athletes than the athletics. Cool. And I love their Neil Young/Kurt Cobain grungey attire.

  4. Gerry says:

    The sport really does make for great TV, and I like these kids. I follow most pro sports, and I find their attitudes so refreshing.

  5. Thanks for the support.

    Cheever

Leave a Reply

