Greenwich Millionaire

“When you say ‘Greenwich millionaire’ there’s almost a populist negative to that … if you say ‘successful businessman’ … it’s a positive.” (Tom Foley to the Hartford Courant, 2/16/10)

We have three Greenwich millionaires running for office in Connecticut (not counting Dick Blumenthal).  Republican Tom Foley and Democrat Ned Lamont are running for governor,  Republican Linda McMahon for the U.S. Senate.  And yes, all are successful businessmen/women.

McMahon

Foley

Lamont

 

Their successes made them Greenwich millionaires, but they don’t want to be called Greenwich millionaires.     

I’m not here to debate how political campaigns are financed.  There are plenty of other blogs for that.

I am here to say I’d love to be a Greenwich millionaire.  I’d be proud to be a Greenwich millionaire.  At least, I’m pretty sure.  But I’m not.  And at this stage of the game, it doesn’t look like I will ever be one.

Still, if you want, you can call me a Greenwich millionaire.  I’ve been called so many things, but never “Greenwich millionaire.”  I’d just like to see how it sounds, feel how it fits.

Go ahead.  I won’t be offended.

Say it like you mean it, and maybe I’ll have you over to my make-believe mansion.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, Noticed, People, Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Greenwich Millionaire

  1. Dear Newest Member of the Greenwich Millionare’s Club!

    I just wanted to congratulate you on your newest standing in the Great State of Connecticut. Since you are the newest memember, I find it time to tell you that you are now allowed/expected to run for a Government position for your state.

    We are sure with how you have a way of words, you will be just the perfect candidate for any political position you would like to run for. Also knowing that you already have an audience who like you, we are sure that you will win.

    We also would need to tell you that since you will be in a political run, you will need to use your own money to pay for your ads and such. So that when you do win your political position, your income will be much less than what you had been making as a News Anchor.

    Once again, we welcome you, the Newest Member of the Greenwich Millionaires Club!

  2. Can I show up in my make-believe strech limo, wearing my make-believe Rolex?

  3. Beckie says:

    If it walks like a duck and quacks like a duck, it’s a duck.

    Do they have more than a million and live in Greenwich? Then they’re Greenwich millionaires.

    If they want to change that financial aspect, I’ll be more than happy to take some of that money off their hands.

    Another childhood adage also comes to mind when I hear they don’t want to be CALLED Greenwich Millionaires because of the negative connotation: sticks and stones nay break my bones, but names will never hurt me.

  4. Beckie says:

    Oh….and a PS to Mrs. McMahon…..I know you’re running. I know your position. You can stop with the flyers in the mail that we get every other day. Put the money to other uses and save a tree to boot.

  5. I suggest you dump The Brooks File and start up The Brooks Fund. Move to Greenwich and live life on the hedge.

    Can’t wait to say, Welcome to the club, Mr. Brooks. ”

    Come on down

  6. stratos bonos says:

    I think Gerry should move to Hartford and become Mayor of the city, after all you’ll need to work your way up to running for office like governor… right, surely money doesn’t make you qualified to run a state… does it

  7. Dan McCarthy says:

    Isn’t being a millionaire a prerequisite for living in Greenwich?

Leave a Reply

