Ellen

As I was clearing the sidewalk this morning, I noticed a young woman jogging down the long, winding, downhill  road that runs adjacent to our little cul de sac.  She was running on the street.

I thought of Ellen Abrams.

Ellen worked for Channel 8.  She was one of the best, brightest and brashest television reporters in Connecticut.  In March 1993, Ellen was struck and killed by a car in Ellington while she was out for a morning jog.  It was after a snowstorm, and snow was piled high on the sides of the road.  She was just a couple of weeks away from celebrating her 34th birthday.

I knew Ellen as a fierce competitor with a great sense of humor.  I’d like to think she’d second my next thought as I watched the young woman trot away.

Get a treadmill.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Living in the Past, Noticed, People, TV Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ellen

  1. Dan McCarthy says:

    I remember her but had no idea of what happened to her… that’s terrible.

  2. Duby McD. says:

    I think of Ellen frequently and recall what a lovely job you did on air (back in your WFSB days) commemorating her career and her life. Thanks for the memories.

Leave a Reply

