Baby Bro

It is hard to fathom that my baby brother is 50 today.

But it does give me an excuse to run my favorite picture of anyone, anywhere, all-time.  This was one happy kid.

And now, 50 years later, I finally understand his joy as he stood in a crib that would probably be recalled as a safety hazard today.

He was sending a message to his two older brothers. 

“Look at me.  I’m adorable.  By the time Dad and Ma are through with you two, they’re gonna be exhausted, and I’m gonna get away with stuff you could only dream of.  I may even total a car just for good measure!”

And so it was.  Happy birthday.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Living in the Past, People and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Baby Bro

  1. Dan McCarthy says:

    If that smile were any bigger it’d take up his whole face!

  2. Jeff says:

    Wow . . . even then t here’s no mistaking the family resemblance. (No comments about the “baby face”.) You’ve inspired me . . . my “baby” brother turns 50 this year too.

    I’ve got to dig through the old family photos and see if I can find something appropriate.

    There’s no beating that face though . . . what a fantastic smile!

  3. #2 says:

    That is a GREAT picture….many memories, I’m amazed that he was such a good natured kid considering he was constantly being tortured by 2 older brothers…..was my own personal catcher who made every effort to snag a ripping curve ball or the occasional knuckle ball that would end up bouncing off his head…and the glorious statement ” If you cry and tell mom and dad….i’ll kill you”……Happy 50th Birthday….I’m sure Ma feels worse than you today!

  4. JH says:

    Sooo Ger, how old were you when you took that picture?

  5. Gerry's Mentor says:

    I have demanded that my little brother, 50 this year, the youngest of three boys read this. The little bas…d cleaned up and I am still bitter!

  6. Cape Cod says:

    Wow! That is probably the cutest kid I have EVER seen; you should be proud to have him as a younger brother. No need to guess where all the good looks in the Brooks Family went. Based on some of the comments, I can’t believe that there are people out there who don’t seem to fully appreciate their younger siblings. For the life of me, I can’t understand why! Gerry, your little brother is so cute in that picture he must have grown up to be quite a good looking young man and as you know, 50 is still pretty young. With that smile he looks like he probably had a lot of fun along the way, too. Youngest children like him should be rewarded by their parents for putting up with all the grief they took from their older siblings. I’m thinking something like a trip to Florida when they hit 15 years old!

  7. Sharon Wallace says:

    Speaking up for being the ‘baby’ of the family of three (my brothers are 8 & 12 years older than I am), I have to say that ‘Yes’ by the time I came along my folks were tired, but alas, happy that they finally had the girl that my dad had always wanted. One would think I’d get away with anything for that part just alone, but no such luck.

    The fights between my brothers started the day my folks were bringing me home from the hospital. The middle child was ‘running away from home (he couldn’t get far, he had a bandana wrapped around a stick with two Peanut Butter sandwhiches). It seems that our oldest brother had told him the new baby would take over the house, which of course the middle brother didn’t like at all! What a horrible thought! Somebody – especially a girl taking over the house??

    My parents got him in the car – though they never told me why or how even to this day. Yet, my brother wouldn’t even look at me, whereas I was looking at this stranger with my eyes wide open and started to cry! So it started – the ‘war’ between my middle brother and I. To this day, there are still the fights.

    When I turned 50, there was no mention of it from my family. My dad was had passed away a year before, big brother who doesn’t pay attention to me anyway, middle brother who is still a pain in the butt wasn’t talking to me. I did call my mom to say ‘hi’ – still trying to be a ‘good girl’, she did mention she thought my birthday was coming up. I told her it was today, but she didn’t beleive me. She told me she would know when my birthday was, since she was there. My son sent me a text ‘Happy Birthday’. So, the day went on quietly, no party, no surprises, no gifts – unless the ‘kisses’ I had gotten from my dog and cat count.

  8. Sharon Wallace says:

    Hey, it’s what has kept me going on. I have this thing, if they were ‘nice’ to me I would have given into the M.S., Fibromyalgia, Cancer to name just a few of my health issues. I’ve worked hard in my jobs until the Dr’s took me out of work last year, but since then I’ve done more voulenteer work which gives me more pleasure than I could have hoped for. My nieces and nephews may not know me the way I wish they would, but that is due to whatever my brother has told his kids. I call and talk with them, and hope that will bring us together, but I don’t count on that. I have friends who say I inspire them, but I don’t think so. I did what I had to do to survive. I’m still here, may not be kicking as fast as I would like to, but I am back in my home state that I love and thanks to Facebook, I even have friends out of our country.

    My dog and cat will keep me laughing at times until my sides hurt. I have my music, and do to what my brothers have done to me, I have learned to take care of others. I know what hurt is like, so I would rather do for others, than for myself.

Leave a Reply

