Common Denominator

If nothing else, Wednesday’s non-storm was a good reminder that the one thing that affects us all is the weather.

If you didn’t read the comments on the previous post, please do.  Almost every one presents a good argument about weather coverage, pro and con.  Almost.

By the way, the Journal Inquirer wins the award for best headline:  “Dusting ‘pounds’ state.”

Sure, it was more than a dusting, but call it poetic license.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Media, Weather and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Common Denominator

  1. Wonder what’s up with the single quote marks on each end of the word pounds? Would make sense if all three words were a quote. The way it appears on your post is ok. The way it appears in the JI isn’t.

    My inner English teacher is having a bad day. He’ll get ” over ” this.

  2. I don’t understand why they close the schools when it’s NOT snowing, but leave them open when it IS. Take my alma mater, for example. We had to wait until New Britain was announced before we could find out if classes were cancelled at CCSU.

  3. Kevin says:

    it’s central Connecticut media bias I tells ya, we got 7 inches on the shore, no complaints from me. I was even slightly sore from shoveling, dusting my arse.

  4. Deborah says:

    The best on-air moment by a weathercaster when a predicted snowstorm of the century (or something) didn’t happen was Hilton Kaderli (this has got to be ten years ago or more): He opened up his weather segment with a rueful grin, saying, “Well, I guess we can just get out our brooms for this one” or something to that effect. He was honest and most of them are….

  5. Jeff says:

    Having grown up in New Hampshire in the 60s, I still am amazed at how little weather it takes to shut everything down.

    My mind takes me back to when I was probably in Jr. High . . . it would have been about 1966 or so . . . we had probably had a foot or so of snow the night before, and the next morning was cold enough to freeze a flame – cold enough that I remember the morning 45 years later . . .

    Our “regular” school bus couldn’t make it, but they resurrected this relic of a bus that had to have been from the late 50’s which did start. As I remember it, the bus looked like something from and old cartoon . . . but it ran . . . and we went to school.

    But that was New Hampshire in a small town run by practical Yankees back in the ’60s.

    Ahhh . . . the good old days.

Leave a Reply

