Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell

NBC Connecticut reporter Monica Buchanan brought her mother into the newsroom this week.  Mom was visiting from out of town, and Monica was introducing her around.

I was eating dinner when my turn came, so I was especially suave shaking hands and saying hello with a mouthful of ham and cheese.  Mom is a delightful woman, Monica is her spitting image.

But all I could think was:  IS SHE OLDER THAN ME?  I WANT HER TO BE OLDER THAN ME!

For some reason, I hate it when I’m older than my colleagues’ parents.  I guess I’d like to think I’m still just one of the guys.  Or girls.  Whatever.

I’ve had drinks with Keisha Grant’s father.  She calls him Daddy, so I call him Daddy too.  I like him a lot.  He’s older than me.

Not by much.  But just enough.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Noticed, People and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell

  1. Linda says:

    Unfortunately, I know when I meet one of my daughters’ friends mothers, I will be older than them. I entered parenthood late. It was a little awkward when they were little – there was definitely a gap in our life experiences and maturity levels. I am older than my new son-in-law’s mom – older, grayer, heavier. Sigh. But with age comes wisdom, experience, knowledge. I just wish the body was in as good shape as the brain.

  2. Stormy says:

    If she’s Monica’s spitting image, she must be quite fetching. 🙂

  3. Beckie says:

    My daughter is 17 mos. old. I was 40 when she was born (she was a HUGE suprise and an only child.) I love it (not!) when someone asks how old my “granddaughter” is.

    And the maturity gap between us and other parents of toddlers is just mind-blowing!

  4. graham says:

    But Gerry, sometimes with age comes reverence.
    And sometimes just comes more grey hair.
    Being older still beats the alternative!

  5. Michael says:

    Hmmm… when I see some of the stuff going on these days, I’m glad I’m the age I am.

    (And if you can’t guess, too bad!)

    Michael

Leave a Reply

