Expect the Unexpected

“We’ll be by around four.”

“Great.  See you then.”

Looking forward to going to a Super Bowl party, and I didn’t even have to worry about driving.  The phone rang again, and 35 minutes later, I was driving.  To work.

Such is the life of a journalist, whether it be TV, radio, print or digital.  It doesn’t happen often, but you’re on call around the clock.   That’s one of many reasons I’ve always loved what I do. 

No, I don’t enjoy  reporting on death and destruction.  (And our condolences do go out to those who survive the five men who lost their lives in Middletown.)  And no, I don’t enjoy sending hockey and golf fans off the deep end when we have to break into programming.

I still love and accept the unpredictability of the job.  The randomness.  The “you never know” of it all.  The simple fact that every day is different.  Sometimes a little, sometimes a lot.  Sometimes the news is even good.

As the Doobies sang, it keeps you running.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Media, News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

