Birthdays

I check the birthdays in the paper every day.  Why, I don’t know.  Sometimes to say, “She’s still alive?” or, “He’s that old?” 

We have a motley group today, February 6th. 

Starting with the “She’s still alive?” category, Zsa Zsa Gabor is 93.  I never knew what she did except be famous.  Famous for being famous.  Which, in retrospect, means she was way ahead of her time.  She’d be the Queen of TMZ if she were still in her prime. 

Mrs. Peel

Patrick Macnee is 88.  A nice British actor, all you need to know is that he got to stand next to Diana Rigg (Mrs. Peel) in “The Avengers.”  Maybe Emerson, Lake and Palmer wrote “Lucky Man” for him.  (“Ooooh, what a lucky man he was.”)

Not ripped.

    Rip Torn is 79.  The poor man deserves to be seen in something other than his mug shot.  Enormously talented and apparently enormously troubled, he’ll always be Artie on “The Larry Sanders Show” to me. 

Mamie Van Doren is 79Ummm…she dated Bo Belinsky.  (Don’t remember Mamie Van Doren?  That’s OK.  Never heard of Bo Belinsky?  That’s OK, too.) 

Mike Farrell is 71.   B.J. Hunnicutt.  Social activisit.  Married to Shelley Fabares of “Donna Reed” fame.  I wonder if he sings “Johnny Angel” on karaoke night? 

Tom Brokaw is 70.  The last man standing of the Big Three.  (Yes, I know Rather is alive and harvesting acorns.)  Still used wisely and well by NBC. 

Not Bobby Rydell

Fabian is 67.    Not to be confused with Bobby Rydell. 

Michael Tucker is 66.  Stuart on “L.A. Law.”  When people watched NBC Thursday nights at 10.  And in the words of Scarlet from “Gone With The Wind”:  “As God is my witness, as God is my witness they’re not going to lick me. I’m going to live through this and when it’s all over, America will watch NBC on Thursday night again!”  Or something like that. 

Natalie Cole is 60.  A fellow UMie (UMass grad).  She was a couple of years ahead of me.  Performed with a group called “Black Magic” if I recall correctly.  Saw her perform at a campus bar called the Blue Wall.  The wall was blue.  Go figure. 

The rest of today’s notable celebrants are younger than me.  So the heck with them.  (Did I say the heck with them?  That’s so not me.  I meant to say screw ’em.  There.  I feel better.)

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Living in the Past, Noticed, People and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Birthdays

  1. hendu says:

    “used wisely and well by NBC” when was the last time those words were uttered?? Also, I don’t think that Scarlet said “…they’re not going to LICK me…” well maybe in some sort of “gone with the wind” spin-off

  2. Gerry says:

    No really, that’s what she said. Trust me. As far as your first observation goes, words like bite, hand, feed, me come to mind. We must be semi-careful.

  3. Rick D says:

    Gerry, Ah yes, Diana Rigg!!!! As a young man, many a sleepless night.

  4. John Daly says:

    Gerry, Check out Mamie Van Doren on Facebook. She has her own page. I was fortunate enough to have Bo Belinsky (the late, great) introduce me to Mamie at an Old Timer’s Game in Anaheim. Here’s the best sports trivia question: Who was the first pitcher to throw a no-hitter in Dodger Stadium? It was Bo Belinsky. The Angels first season was played in Dodger Stadium.

    • Gerry says:

      I remember Bo’s no-hitter. It earned him a spot in the pamphlet. And like Billy Rohr (who didn’t get his no-no), it was all downhill after that.

  5. graham says:

    Scary how we remember all these names.

Leave a Reply

