The Reader Ref

Blowing the whistle on the Courant for a flagrant foul on page A4.

It’s a full page ad for a celebrity basketball game.  The caption under the picture:  Men Against Domestic Volience Campaign members.

The name of one of the teams: Lightening Layups.

Good cause, bad spellers.  Maybe next time, the Lightning Layups can play the Literacy Volunteers.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Media, Noticed and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Reader Ref

  1. Terry Cowgill says:

    You could sort of understand if this was a story or headline that was the casualty of having fewer copy editors after the massive layoffs.
    But this was an ad — something that actually generates revenue for the company. You’d think that would be the one place where the suits at The Courant would continue to be sufficiently staffed so as to avoid this kind of sloppiness.

    • Gerry says:

      Actually Terry, it was more like a public service announcement. But still…
      And please understand that I know I live in a glass house when it comes to this kind of thing. Fortunately for us in television, spelling mistakes and typos disappear in a few seconds (though there’s still no excuse). In a newspaper, you just stare at it, and it doesn’t go away.

  2. Linda says:

    I love it when you call out spelling errors. I read a lot of books and it is amazing that I’ve never read one that doesn’t have a spelling error or grammar error. I understand in the publishing world, they no longer employ proof readers. I was recently introduced to a blog (work related, book review type blog) written by a young woman who wants to become a published author. Her entries were filled with the kind of spelling mistakes you keep pointing out. If she ever publishes a book it will probably start out….. its’ a dark and stormie nite…….

    • Gerry says:

      I did not know that publishers no longer use proof readers. I guess I should have, based on some of the books I’ve read the last few years.

      As an equally frustrated friend of mine said today, “Maybe five people care about this and we’re two of them.” Glad you make three.

  3. Gerry's Mentor says:

    Check my spelling on curmudgeon.

  4. Joan says:

    It actually is one of my pet peeves when I am reading a newspaper or book and see countless spelling and grammatical errors. I used to say something about them (to whoever was around at the time), but stopped when IMing became so popular (r u gng t the prte tnit?) I thought I was getting too old & picky and no one else cared. I’m glad to see that I was wrong.

  5. Jerry says:

    Thanks Ger, made me snort coffee out of my nose on “Lightning Layups can play the Literacy Volunteers.”

    Even the headline make you go, huh?

    Are these men against Domestic Violence Campaign workers?

Leave a Reply

