Pink

I hadn’t intended to watch the Grammys Sunday night, but it was hard to change the station during an opening number that paired Lady Gaga and Sir Elton.

As I discovered during her SNL performance last October, that girl can bring it.

And so I discovered Pink last night.  I know she’s been around for a while, but our paths hadn’t crossed.

Pink. Wow.

I almost never use the word unique because it means “one of a kind.”  Which means precious few performances are unique.  But if you missed her performance last night, here it is.  It has to be unique to pop music.  (Kind of Cher meets Cirque du Soleil.)

And like Gaga, she has a marvelous voice.  Genuine talent.

So I’m wondering.  If Stefani Germanotta (Gaga) and Alecia Moore (Pink) wore plain old t-shirts and jeans and simply sang their songs, would we still watch?  Would we still listen?

Is talent enough these days?

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Media, Noticed, People and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pink

  1. pete says:

    i believe you have hit on the difference between “pop star” and “recording artist.”

  2. PamFH says:

    I too “discovered” Pink last nite. I became a BIG fan. That was some performance. And she can sing!!

  3. Pink makes the early Lou Reed seem positively Perry Comoesque. To each his/her own niche. Standing, or dervishly twirling, out in the crowd is the thing. Always has been. Always will be.

    Great line about Cher.

  4. Renee Antaya says:

    I just discovered who Pink was last night, what a beautiful voice she has and is very pretty. The performance was just that a great performance…jeans would have done well too.

Leave a Reply

