Oh, the Irony

It’s been 15 days since my left knee tried to secede from the Union. 

I’ve been contemplating the brace I’ve been strapping on to the hinge per doctor’s order.  It’s quite the contraption, but what fascinated me wasn’t its construction, but that it has the manufacturer’s name (BREG!) plastered across it like a golf bag or hockey pads. 

The RoadRunner!

So I googled Breg, and sure enough, a couple of clicks later, there’s my brace.

I’m wearing the “RoadRunner” model, featuring polycentric hinges and full circumferential straps.  It’s good to know the hinges are polycentric and the straps are full circumferential. 

But “RoadRunner?”  Moi?

(Stifle sarcastic snickering.)

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Health, It's all about me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Oh, the Irony

  1. How is it that your new wonderful ‘toy’ for your knee lets your knee bend? The one that I have, my leg has to be straight. Mine has foam and metal, and of course the every favorite velcro, that both my dog and cat come running out of nowhere to see if I’m putting that brace on (called the Immbolizer) or the ‘wonderful’ brace for my ankle which my new Physical Therapist loves. I don’t wear the knee one to P.T. since it is was used on my left knee, but it could be put on my right knee, but I won’t do that right now. I figure the knee replacement I had a little over a year ago on the right knee should make all the pain go away. Well that happended on only one side of my knee. What the heck?

    Back to the brace on my ankle, it helps keep my ankle straight so that I don’t have any more strains/sprains/pain. The Dr’s also thought it would ‘straighten out’ my foot since it goes to the right. Well my foot still goes straight, and once I take off the brace, my whole foot says all kinds of words that I can’t say here.

    Today I had my first ‘Physical Therapy’ treatment. An ultrasound on the bottom of my right foot. Had I not seen what she was doing, I never would have known what was going on. After she had done that, she told me it was ok for me to put my sock, brace and boot back on, then was told I was going to go and see the pool. Ok,,, wait a minute I didn’t bring my bathing suit!

    Oh, they just wanted me to see the pool and then make appointments after Physical Therapy. So, even though my Physical Therapy is at 11:00 am, the pool therapy isn’t until 1:30 pm. I was told it was ok to have lunch in between P.T and when I go into the pool? I thought you weren’t supposed to go into the pool after eating??? Maybe I should bring my knee Immobilizer next week and see what happens.

  2. Gerry's Mentor says:

    I’m thinking more along the lines of the “Oy Vay” model.

  3. #2 says:

    Perhaps the “Touche Turtle” model would be more applicable

  4. Gerry's Mentor says:

    Ain’t friends and family great!

  5. So being a NBC anchor is that rough….

  6. Chip Gorra says:

    Looks like the ‘Road-Hobbler’ instead. Welcome to the Land of the Gimps, Gerry!

  7. Wendy says:

    Perhaps a little WD40 might work?

  8. I think Wendy might be onto something

Leave a Reply

