Still Bill

Every now and then I read  a quote and think, “I wish I said that.”

Bill Withers

I read one today in the New York Times review of a documentary on Bill Withers.  You remember Bill Withers (if you’re old enough).

He had hits with “Lean on Me,” “Ain’t No Sunshine,” and the song my wife and I danced to at our wedding, “Just the Two of Us.”

The documentary is called “Still Bill,” and I may steal his words and use them when I talk to students or aspiring broadcast journalists.

“It’s O.K. to head out for wonderful, but on your way to wonderful you’re going to have to pass through all right.  And when you get to all right, take a good look around and get used to it because that may be as far as you’re going to go.”

And I might add that if that’s as far as you go, that’s all right.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, People and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Still Bill

  1. Steve says:

    Okay, but let’s say you do make it to wonderful? Where do you head out for after that?

  2. Wendy says:

    Makes me think of what a friend of mine says: “Better is the enemy of good enough.” Sometimes good enough is plenty just as all right can be.

Leave a Reply

