Gotta Pay Pap

And Papi, too.

I was rummaging through a box of memories junk when I came across this ticket stub.  $7.50 for a box seat at Fenway in 1984.  (A box seat cost $3.50 when my grandfather took me to my first game.)

The Red Sox beat the Texas Rangers, 4-2, behind the pitching of Al Nipper (yes, the Al Nipper) and home runs by Rich Gedman and Tony Armas.  (Ain’t the internet grand?)

That seat will cost $52 this coming season.  Then again, no one on that 1984 roster made a million bucks.  This year, at least 20 of them will.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, Noticed, Sports and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gotta Pay Pap

  1. Ok I will admit that I don’t have my ticket stubs from the three Yankee Games I went to. I had actually won the tickets from work. You figure they would be great seats right? WRONG!! All the way in Nose Bleed!! I have a fear of heights! What the crap am I doing up here??? The ‘ants’ down there, are the players?? Are you sure?

    You would think I’d be smart after one game beng up there would ‘cure’ me of not trying for more tickets right? WRONG!
    I tried a total of two more times and both times I ended up back in Nose Bleed.

    Plus not only were we in Nose Bleed (Heck), but, I don’t even like the Yankees!! I hope you enjoyed your game. I am going to cry in my water… both of my football teams lost today and I have lost my voice from the yelling at the Refs who know nothing!

  2. Gerry's Mentor says:

    Or $160 for the Monstah!

Leave a Reply

