A Sport? A Pastime?

Either, I suppose.

I watched some folks ice fishing Saturday.  It was a beautiful day, and they seemed happy and content.  I would never spend hours standing on ice, hoping to snag a fish on a hook.  Just as they would probably never spend hours whacking a little white ball and chasing after it.

On Wethersfield Cove.

So I understand what they’re doing.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, People, Sports and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Sport? A Pastime?

  1. No contest, smack a small white ball in warm weather wins hands down! Come on! Stand on ice in cold weather, to catch something I can eat in a restaurant? No Contest.

  2. graham says:

    Ice Fishing………not for me BUT I would like to try Ice Sailing. Gerry, you should remember a weatherman in Boston named Don Kent who was an avid ice sailer. I went to high school with his son and hinted around plenty of times for a ride in his ice boat and was very disappointed I never got invited. Then one day I found out why…..the boats are all single-seaters!
    Maybe someday I’ll give it a try, but I do prefer sailing on Nantucket Sound when it’s 80 degrees.
    So no sailing today.

    • Gerry says:

      Graham, I grew up watching Jack (“And make it a great day.”) Chase and Don Kent. And somehow, I met his son (David?) (did he go to UMass?) and ended up in the pool at his house, which had a huge “Schlitz” logo painted on the bottom. Unfortunately, Don wasn’t home. Or maybe fortunately. I usually have a good memory, but on this one…hmmmm.

  3. graham says:

    Gerry, I went to school with his other son, Doug at Thayer Academy in Braintree. He was one year behind me there.
    Up until about two years ago, Don was still filling in for the weekend weather guy on WOCB (?) radio on the Cape.
    I think he was living in NH then and phoning in the weather. Haven’t heard him in awhile.

  4. Ice fishing is the second most appealing ” I’ve never done it ” experience to me. The first: Leaping off the Founders Bridge with barbells strapped to my wrists.

    And what the hell kind of fish do these people catch? Mrs. Paul’s.

  5. Bruce says:

    A week or two ago a guy fell through thin ice while ice fishing at Risley’s Resevoir right across the street from me. It was about 55 degrees with little ice, made a complete fool out of himself and had to be rescued. Unfortunately I’ve done the same on the golf course more than once…

Leave a Reply

