Can You Hit Me Now?

Gotta love the Verizon/AT&T cell phone wars, especially if you’re in an advertising-driven business.  They’re dropping a ton of dough on television and print advertising.  (Bless you!)

Can I kick you now?

You wanna piece of me?

AT&T features a relatively well-known spokesman, actor Luke Wilson.

Verizon’s primary spokesman is the “Can you hear me now?” guy,  Paul Marcarelli.

Wilson’s been a popular attraction at the Travelers Championship Celebrity Pro-Am.  Marcarelli’s a North Haven guy.

So here’s what I’m thinking to really ramp this thing up:  An MMA (mixed martial arts) showdown.  Maybe pay-per-view.

WILSON VS. MARCARELLI.  AT&T VS. VERIZON.  WINNER GOES 5G!

Sometimes I’m blinded by my own brilliance.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, Media, Noticed, People, TV Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Can You Hit Me Now?

  1. You are on fire with ideas!

  2. Want to know who will win? There’s an app for that!

  3. I was debating on if I was going to reply to this one, but then my mind said – ‘go for it’. So, here goes….

    As a person who worked for Verizon Wireless for 13 years (it would have been longer if I didn’t have to go out on Long Term Disability – after all they are the reason I came back to my home state of CT and that I will always be thankful for), when my friends would mention AT&T I would say ‘Who’? When I ended up getting AT&T U-Verse in my apartment I felt like I had betrayed my company. I still have my Verizon Wireless Family Share service with my New York telephone number. After all a lot of people had it, and it was the only number my dad when he was alive would remember to call me on.

    When the commericals first came on I thought they were cute. Then the new T-Mobile commerical with Eric Clapton was nice, until I had seen it about 15 times in one day.

    I had met the ‘Can you hear me now’ guy – Paul, and asked for an autograph and he had to sign it with ‘Can You Hear Me Now?’ or something like that I’d have to dig it out of a box along with all the knick knacks I have from the office). He couldn’t sign his real name even though there had been an article about him in the local paper in NY a few weeks before he came to our office. Meeting him, I had to be on my best behavior, since he is a lot shorter than I was – not that I have anything about short men, my ex husband was/is shorter than me and until I shrank three inches my son was shorter than me, now he is very proud of being 5’9″ and finally taller than his mom who is either 5’7″ or 5’8″ depending on who/where my height is taken. I had also met James Earl Jones who was shorter than I, but his build is what made him taller and the way he held himself I felt small, especially when he engulfed my hand in his.

    So the new commericals are here and there will always be more to ‘one up’ the other and we will either just have to watch them or change the channel.

Leave a Reply

