Heidi or Haiti?

2007. What was the problem?

So I look up at the monitor, and I see this chick on “Extra.”

“Who’s she?”

“Heidi Montag.  She’s on ‘The Hills.'”

“What’s that?”

“Reality show.”

That’s why I didn’t know Heidi Montag.  I don’t do reality.  Television, that is.  (I know what you’re thinking.  Stop now.  I mean it.)

I look up again a few minutes later.  Now she’s the big story on “Access Hollywood.”

“OK, what did she do?”

“She got ten cosmetic surgeries in one day.  They say she’s addicted.  She’s on the cover of ‘People.’  And she’s got a new album out.”

Now.

“She’s a singer?”

“She is now.”

Haiti?  Health care? 

Puh-leeeeeze.  Priorities, people!

We’ve got Heidi to worry about.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Media, Noticed, People, TV Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Heidi or Haiti?

  1. Rick D says:

    Gerry, Its all about self- perception.. Jacko had a problem with it and so does she. Does it deserve all the attention, Absolutely Not!!! This is the biggest problem I have with your chosen profession.

  2. JIM says:

    Gerry,just think,in a few years Heidi,Snooki and “Situation” could be running this country.Now there’s some Reality

  3. t bone says:

    But you wrote about it…mission accomplished.

    • Gerry says:

      It was just too good to pass on. And in the course of finding out who she is (or was), I read that she spent $2,000,000 to make an album that sold less than 700 copies in its first week. So there’s something to feel good about.

Leave a Reply

