Vacation Conversation

This always happens when I’m away.  Usually on a golf course when I’m hooked up with strangers.  And it never fails to crack me up.

“So what do you do for a living?”

“Ummm…TV.”

“TV?  Really?  What do you do?”

“News.”

“No kiddin’.  You a cameraman?”

“No.”

You’re on TV?”

“Yeah.”

“You a reporter?”

“Used to be in the field.”

“So what are you?”

“Anchor.”

“You’re an anchorman?  You?”

“I clean up pretty well.”

I know I didn’t come from the TV Anchorboy catalog, but one of these days, I’m going to shave and comb my hair and wear freshly-pressed clothes when I play golf on vacation.

Just to live up to that Ron Burgundy image.

Or not.

 

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Noticed, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Vacation Conversation

  1. Ok, once again you have me laughing so hard the dog jumped off my lap. You have got to stop doing that to me! Everytime he does that he decides to use one of my knees as a ‘jumping’ board.

    So not only to my sides hurt from laughing (not to mention the pulled muscles I have), but one out of two knees hurt! Somehow I will get you back!

  2. Hilarious. I’m envisioning Huntley and Brinkley as two of a foursome back in the 60s. Looking like Beckett’s tramps: Estragon and Vladmir.

    ” Should we tee off?
    ” Let’s go.”
    ( They do not tee off )

    Sorry. Once an English major, always…

  3. Susan says:

    Ahh, Ger. Does this mean that, after all, you have a face for radio?

    Just joshin’ you big guy.

  4. Gerry's Mentor says:

    I truly hope that you appreciate my limited restraint.

  5. Marshall Miles says:

    Gerry..every team needs an anchor!

  6. stratos bonos says:

    I think you look … anchorly; is that a word? you kind of remind be of Jim, Jim Garner, both great sense of humor, distinguished, and so you know like me… I think you get more handsome with age,… you must look really rough on vacation.? you and me in a dark alley the Wednesday of your vacation… would I be scared??

  7. Dan McCarthy says:

    I’m still convinced Family Guy’s Tom Tucker is at least partially based on you.

  8. graham says:

    You’re on T.V? Wow, who know!
    What station?

Leave a Reply

