L’Heure Bleue

We all have our favorite time of year to take time off.  Ours is the winter, based on our personal premise that any time spent away from winter is time well spent.

Florida won’t do, because warm temperatures aren’t guaranteed and vacation days are precious.  So we returned to a town near Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.  The sunsets are perfect, but my favorite time of day is the hour after sunset.

The French call it “the blue hour.”  L’heure bleue.

The beach at the blue hour.

I love this picture for the confluence of the earth, the sea and the sky.

And you see those waves?  (To be continued.)

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to L’Heure Bleue

  1. Ok, so I had to remember my French from school for a second there. I remembered it before I opened up to see what you were sending. (For some reason the song with the words ‘Blue, Blue my love is Blue, Blue is my love now I’m without you’), then knowing Gerry, he would never say he was ‘Blue’ without us. Nah not the ones who wait with baited breath to hear and watch him. Now I am certain he’s not bringing us back any goodies. Deeeep sigh.

    I guess I could forgive him due to the picture, but did you do that Gerry to make us jealous while some of us have 38 degree weather right now? Nah, Gerry wouldn’t want to make us feel jealous! He would want us to make feel happy and relaxed as he is. He would want us to make us feel calm and if we close our eyes we can hear the surf (do I have a good imagination or what??).

    Well, I should say that I’m glad that you got away from all that is going on and that you are relaxing and staying warm. That you will be nice and tan when you come home (You are coming home right?)

    I’m going to go back and watch my football game. At least the T.V. can hear me scream and yell. Have fun Gerry! Walk in the water for me…Notice I said ‘walk in’ not walk on.

    Shar

  2. Karen Brewer says:

    My daughter wants to go to Puerto Vallarta this spring what can you tell me….safe?

    • Gerry says:

      We never made it into PV proper, so I really can’t say whether it’s along the lines of Cabo or Cancun.
      No matter where in the world we’ve gone…whether it’s a city or in the country or at the beach…common sense is always what matters most when it comes to safety and security when we travel.

  3. Gerry's Mentor says:

    So I take it that this is your Blue Period?

  4. I love it! Great comment!!

  5. Dam! I feel warmer already! Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

