So I’m Sitting On The Set…

…waiting to do a live interview with Dick Blumenthal, who was at the other end of the new World Headquarters.  And the producer said to me…

“Toss to a break, and then we’ll do Blumenthal.”

“Why wait?”

“He’s on the phone.”

“On the phone?”

“With the President.  THE President.”

“Well, after the break it is then.”

I turned around, looked across the room, and there was Dick Blumenthal, phone pressed to ear, beaming.  And all I could think was, “Wow, the guy at the other end of the room is talking to the President of the United States.  How cool is that?”

I like moments like that.  I like it that after all these years I may be jaded, but not beyond recognition.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Noticed, People, Politics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to So I’m Sitting On The Set…

  1. mike hydeck says:

    That is exactly why we do what we do! The wow factor.

  2. Enjoy it now Mr. Blumenthal..your going to be a target of the RNC …..let the slinging begin!

  3. Linda says:

    I missed the news last night, but had nbc30 on this morning and as I was walking through my living room, I saw Mr. Blumenthal smiling so wide I thought his face would split. Didn’t know he was so excited to run for senator. Then I saw you and paused to listen and found out he had just talked to the President. Mr. Blumenthal looked like a little boy who just woke up on Christmas morning to see everything he had wished for under the tree. I ignore politics as much as I can, but I’m so surprised that people have already forgotten the mess the Republicans made and left for President Obama. While I don’t agree with all the things President Obama has done, we’ve got to remember what he was given to work with. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised though, it’s still politics as usual.

  4. Dee says:

    I was watching last night imagining the buzz in that newsroom. Connecticut went national in a big way last night. Thanks to Senator Dodd for doing the right thing. Just think Lieberman will become Connecticut’s senior senator – yikes!

  5. joene says:

    Very scary, indeed, Dee.

  6. Bob Porrazzo says:

    “Enjoy it now Mr. Blumenthal..your going to be a target of the RNC …..let the slinging begin!

    Mr. Miles, I wonder if you mean something like this…from 2007…

    http://cei.org/pdf/5719.pdf

Leave a Reply

