What About “The Hangover?”

I wonder about critics.  Are they important?  To themselves?  To each other?

I know a few critics.  They seem normal.  But do they watch the same movies we do?  And do they eat popcorn or foie gras?

NEW YORK (AP) — The National Society of Film Critics on Sunday selected “The Hurt Locker,” a film about an elite Army bomb squad unit that works in Iraq to defuse improvised explosives while under the threat of insurgents, as the best picture of 2009.
The society, composed of film critics from some of the country’s top publications, also bestowed honors on the movie’s director, Kathryn Bigelow, and lead actor, Jeremy Renner.
The society picked Yolande Moreau as best actress for her performance in “Seraphine,” a French film about the painter Seraphine de Senlis.
Joel and Ethan Coen won best screenplay for “A Serious Man,” a dark comedy set in 1967, while “The Beaches of Agnes 40,” an autobiographical documentary about the life of director Agnes Varda, was selected as the best nonfiction film.
“Summer Hours,” a story of three siblings by French filmmaker Olivier Assayas, won for best foreign language film.

Well, at least I’m familiar with the Coens.  I’ll have to bone up on the work of the Bigelows and Assayases.  Right after I attend the next Judd Apatow film festival.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Media, Noticed, People and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What About “The Hangover?”

  1. We’re on the same page here. I heard on NPR a few days ago a list of the ten best books of 2009. I read a lot of books. I read the Times Book Review every week. I was ( Gulp. I confess, an English major ) But I never heard of any of the ” best ” books of 2009. And. like you, the Coen brothers are the only ones on that list I recognize.

    But who am I? Ernest Scared Stupid is on my list of best ” films ” of the past 20 years.

  2. JH says:

    I go to a lot of movies. The only one on that list I’ve seen is “A Serious Man.” I can honestly say…that movie stunk. I can only imagine what the others would be like. Thanks for the warning about the others.

Leave a Reply

