A Digital Man

As we end 2009, I can finally say I’m over 8-tracks.  It took only 40 years.

I now understand that technology changes at warp speed, while the only warp I understand is in my mind.  I now begrudgingly accept that what it cutting edge today will be yesterday’s news tomorrow.  There is nothing I can do about it.  I surrender.

The most startling, frightening, life-changing, delightful development of the decade was the digital revolution.

The internet?  Now it’s just another home appliance.  But it opened up avenues of information and communication I could never have imagined.  Like this blog.

We now have hundreds of channels of digital high def television.  And made people like the Gosselins and the Kardashians stars.

The iPod?  I’m still tickled I can carry a lifetime of music in my pocket, and a song costs no more than it did at Patruno’s Variety store in Saxonville, MA in 1962.

I just got a Kindle for Christmas.  A wonder.  It took me two minutes to realize I won’t miss holding a book, and it’ll be great for traveling.

Cell phone?  Don’t use it nearly as much as others, but I was never much of a phone talker anyway.  But I can’t imagine leaving home without it.  And yes, I see a Droid in my near future.

I’ve always enjoyed taking pictures, and digital photography makes it more gratifying than ever.  (Sorry, film purists.) And it’s so much easier to press delete than it was to rip up a picture a certain someone might not like.

And GPS.   How great is GPS?  No more asking for directions.  (Like  I ever did, anyway.)

So how about the teens?  What’s ahead?  No doubt technology will continue to amaze.

But while the technology has improved our lives in its many forms, it has also made us more fractious, more partisan.

My hope is that we’ll put our fun toys and remotes down every now and then and talk to each other.  Face to face.  Get things settled.  Get things done.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, Toys and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Digital Man

  1. The Droid commercials are really good.

  2. It’s only a matter of time before EVERY phone comes with a GPS app. And don’t think it won’t happen.

  3. Sue D says:

    For what it’s worth, my die-hard, 35-year-old, hi-tech, Apple-loving (WOW – too many hyphens for me!) son thinks Droid is the way to go. He’s had an IPhone since I gave it to him a couple of years ago, and he told me tonight that he thinks Droids will have WAY more apps in two years than the IPhone does now… something about about open source? Allowing EVERYone to contribute, as opposed to only apps approved by Apple? He thinks I should get a Droid…

  4. Linda says:

    Books vs. Kindle – Authors can autograph a book (like Wally Lamb did for you). You can highlight important passages (if you own the book and not borrowed from a library). Paperbacks are very portable. It’s not a big deal if you forget a book on the plane, or beach, or hotel. It’s more comfortable to read in bed with a soft book. It’s cozier to snuggle and read a book to a child. You can lend a book to a friend/family member or borrow a book from them. You can borrow books – for free! – from a library. You can support the publishing industry, book stores and your local library. 🙂 I do approve of a Droid, however, as long as it cleans bathrooms!

    • Gerry says:

      I did consider all the pros and cons, Linda. The tipping point (for me) was travel. I usually packed 3 books. Now, every ounce counts. But I do understand where you’re coming from (:)). Looking forward to your contributions in 2010. Happy new year.

  5. Linda says:

    Happy New Year to you too! It seems the older I get, the faster the year goes by!

  6. Wendy says:

    The mere thought of the word Kindle sends shivers through me. As a small, independent book store owner…need I say more? Travel, well, okay; I understand. Personally, I need to hold a book, write in the margins, underline passages, and then, once finished, share with someone else if it’s worthy. I’m really old fashioned, I guess. There is something about rooms with book cases housing books…lots of books…old, leather bound books, new books, all kinds of books. Books held by my grandparents as they read aloud to me…but I digress as Sophia from The Golden Girls would say…Happy New Year!

    • Gerry says:

      Wendy, that was definitely in the “con” column. And believe me, it won’t keep me out of book stores. I’ll always buy books for gifts, too. And Happy New Year to you.

  7. Happy New Year Gerry…

  8. Rick Voght says:

    Patruno’s? I grew up on Chestnut Street ( adjacent to Elm ) and spent a small fortune at “Puts” on baseball cards! Live in Willington CT now but every couple of years my old buddies and I do a “tour of Sax” – Famous Pizza, the Acqueduct, Norton’s Pond ( hockey ) and Edwards Cem.

    • Gerry says:

      I loved that store. Grew up on Paxton Road in one of the Campanelli ranches. Had a chance to be in Sax briefly not too long ago, and did a quickie tour. Walked around the school…looked into the window of my first grade (Miss Lareau) room…buzzed by Pinefield Shopping Center (and Famous). What struck me most of all was that it wasn’t hard at all to see it as it was in the late 50s and 60s.

Leave a Reply

