Do Magazines Still Matter?

It’s been nearly a month since Elin teed up Tiger.

So when my edition of Golf World arrived this week, I was eager to see what fresh new insight golf’s newsweekly would add to the story.

The magazine has been MIA since the Escalade episode because, under normal circumstances, the sport doesn’t make headlines this time of year and they don’t publish weekly.

I thought they might put out a special edition, but no.  Still, the cover whetted my appetite for reporting and analysis that I hadn’t seen over and over since Tiger’s Thanksgiving dinner went down the disposal.

What I got was a 3-page rehash, a back page column, and a brief commentary calling on other players to fill the void.

To make matters worse, I checked the web site.  It’s all there.  For free.

The magazine did have 14 pages featuring new equipment for 2010 I won’t buy.  Two of the pages were dedicated to shafts.

Which I think I got.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Digital World, Media, People, Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Do Magazines Still Matter?

  1. hendu says:

    hmmm, maybe I’ll look at it considering my driver shaft had a misfortunate run-in with my knee.

  2. Gerry,
    what did you expect the magazine to say, given its deadline?
    Their forte either seems to be analysis, which is hard if new facts make their arguments moot or some sort of exclusive get.
    Are there examples of monthlies doing a good job on quickly changing stories like this?
    Their website problem is inexcusable, but it seems like their real error was over promotion.
    Josh
    p.s. When did your purient interests kick in and why couldn’t it have happened four years ago?

  3. hendu says:

    it was the balls fault, didn’t go where i wanted

  4. At least it didn’t have a noose on the cover.

  5. pete says:

    the idea that a magazine about golf contains nothing worth reading doesn’t come as much of a surprise to me, gerry…

  6. One things for sure, Tiger may still make a comeback in golf. I wish the same were true for his marriage.

  7. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Well done, Gerry, Well done.

  8. Rick D says:

    ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ I’m sorry… Were you talking about golf?

  9. Rick D says:

    Much Better…. Merry Christmas

Leave a Reply

