Men Of A Certain Age

Every now and then I’m reminded that I’m not 27 anymore.  Or 37.  Or 47.  (We’ll stop there.)

Today that came in triplicate, starting with Courant rock critic Eric Danton’s top ten albums of the year.   Of the 10 albums, I’ve only heard of 3 of the artists, never mind their music.  Today I am my father.

Then I saw the obituaries of two of my babysitters, staples of ’50s and ’60s television.

Alan Young & Connie Hines

Connie Hines played Carol, Wilbur Post’s wife on “Mr. Ed.”  Did any actor have less to do on any program than she did?  Co-star Alan Young remembers:  “She was a girl married to a fellow listening to a horse. Her biggest line was ‘lunch is ready.'”  But we remember her, which is the ultimate compliment.

Top Cat & Arnold Stang

And we remember Arnold Stang.  He co-starred with Sinatra in Otto Preminger’s “The Man With The Golden Arm.”  But we remember him as the voice of “Top Cat.”  And we remember him even better as the nerdy guy who told us you have to, “Open wide for Chunky.”

These reminders come a couple of days after I saw TNT’s new drama, “Men of A Certain Age.” We men of a certain age are not the most heavily-pursued demographic by advertisers, so there must be a wider audience for this program.  And there is.

Braugher, Romano, Bakula

Ray Romano can actually act.  Scott Bakula is a reliable and amiable presence.  And Andre Braugher lends the gravitas that the others can’t.  While their characters’ circumstances are not mine, I did sit there and relate to their aches and pains, and their concerns as they cross the threshold into “late youth.”  I will watch this show.

And you know what?  This “certain age?”  It’s not so bad.  As a matter of fact, it’s never been better.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, Noticed, People, TV Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Men Of A Certain Age

  1. Kathryn D. says:

    Being a woman “of a certain age”, I think the show is great. Last night was episode #3. So much rings true. I am happy to see a program geared toward my age bracket. I think you will enjoy it.

    Thank you.

  2. Rick D says:

    Gerry, I have heard good things about the show, but I have the fear about seeing things that I can relate to. I do not know if I am ready for knowing I am in that certain age . (gulp)

  3. Li'l Em-Beyond-a-Certain-Age says:

    I remember Arnold Stang as a second, maybe third, banana on the TV version of the Texaco Star Theater, later called the Milton Berle show. Years afterward, Stang gave a good showing as the put-upon gas station attendant in Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World. I always liked him and I’m sorry to see him go.

    Risus fugit.

  4. Sean says:

    You beat me. I’m 2 for 10 on the Courant album list and that’s just because I’ve heard of the bands, not to be confused with actually being familiar with their music.

    As Mark Twain once quipped: “Age is an issue of mind over matter. If you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter. ”

    Rock on, old man.

    And you kids, turn that damn noise down!

  5. #2 says:

    Settle back into the couch and put on a few episodes of “Boomtown”…..Rex and Goldrush will bring you back.

  6. Like the actors, like the show…wish it were on earlier….watching it and getting up at 3 AM is hard for THis man of a certain age!!!

  7. urdead2me says:

    RIP – Arnold Stang, 91, known for his nerdy looks and distinctive nasal voice made a living playing diminutive, bespectacled, caustic little men! He’s best known for “It’s a Mad Mad Mad Mad World” and the voice of Top Cat.
    http://urdead2me.wordpress.com/2009/12/20/rip-arnold-stang/

Leave a Reply

