I Like The French

Maybe it’s the contrarian in me, but here’s a reason why:

PARIS (AP) — France’s efforts to digitize its culture, from Marcel Proust’s manuscripts to the first films of the legendary Lumiere brothers, long have been bogged down by the country’s reluctance to rely on help from American Internet giant Google Inc.

(If you’re interested, you can read more here.)

I like their attitude.  If you can do it, we can do it.  Maybe better.  Maybe not.  But we’re gonna try it our way.

And I really like their attitude when I’m there. Forget what you’ve heard.  They don’t hate Americans.

They like us.  They really like us!  They just want us to try to speak a bit of their language, and sample a bit of their food.

We were in a restaurant in Paris several years ago when a table of American businessmen demanded “steaks and Buds.” Informed they could have their steaks, but there was no Bud, we heard, “What kind of restaurant is this?”

I desperately wanted, just for that moment, to be really fluent in French.  Fluent enough to wash them away in a torrent of Franco-American invective that would send them back to the Big D (a good guess) telling stories about the crazy man in the restaurant.

Anyway, good luck with your Google Francaise.

If it doesn’t work out, you know where to find us.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, News, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Like The French

  1. To the

    A simple reply of, “prendre la route, trou du cul! “, would have sufficed! And made you feel better as wee.

  2. By the way…that was not from the internet…3 years of ALM French at Housatonic Valley Regional High School, 1968-1971 enabled me to learn a few…catch phrases in French…unfortunatly, only a 70 average in grades!

    Three years of French: $5,000

    French text books, and tapes: $500.00

    Three different sarcastic phrases in French:
    inestimable (that was from Google!)

  3. JIM says:

    My darling and I traveled in Europe many years ago,and from what I’m told nothing has changed the attitude of the Ugly American,who can’t wait,can’t tolerate people who don’t speak English very well, or who have limited resourses and just can’t possibly meet every one of your vital needs and comforts. There were times when I was totally embarassed and wanted to apologize for these idiots.But I know in my heart that at some point in their lives,they got their righteous reward from someone a little less tolerant of the Primo American.

  4. JH says:

    And if it doesn’t work out they can rely on what they do best…surrender!

  5. You should have beaten the crepe out of him

Leave a Reply

